Everyone in My Family Has Killed Someone

Everyone in My Family Has Killed Someone

by Benjamin Stevenson

Narrated by Barton Welch

Unabridged — 9 hours, 30 minutes

Everyone in My Family Has Killed Someone

Everyone in My Family Has Killed Someone

by Benjamin Stevenson

Narrated by Barton Welch

Unabridged — 9 hours, 30 minutes

Audiobook (Digital)

$27.99
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app


Related collections and offers

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $27.99

Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Perfect for fans of Richard Osman’s The Thursday Murder Club series, Anthony Horowitz’s Hawthorne and Horowitz series, or even The Maid by Nita Prose, this is your next fun and clever read. The Golden Age of mystery novels with a modern-day twist.

Knives Out and Clue meet Agatha Christie and The Thursday Murder Club in this “utterly original” (Jane Harper), “not to be missed” (Karin Slaughter), fiendishly clever blend of classic and modern murder mystery.

“A witty twist on classic whodunits... Stevenson not only 'plays fair,' he plays the mystery game very, very well.” -- Maureen Corrigan, Washington Post

Everyone in my family has killed someone. Some of us, the high achievers, have killed more than once. I'm not trying to be dramatic, but it is the truth. Some of us are good, others are bad, and some just unfortunate.

I'm Ernest Cunningham. Call me Ern or Ernie. I wish I'd killed whoever decided our family reunion should be at a ski resort, but it's a little more complicated than that.

Have I killed someone? Yes. I have.

Who was it?

Let's get started.

EVERYONE IN MY FAMILY HAS KILLED SOMEONE

My brother

My stepsister

My wife

My father

My mother

My sister-in-law

My uncle

My stepfather

My aunt

Me


Editorial Reviews

JANUARY 2023 - AudioFile

Narrator Barton Welch keeps this entertaining, highly original mystery light and lively, even during its most intense moments. Ernie Cunningham self-publishes “books about how to write books” (even though he’s never actually written any) “bought by people who will never write one.” Ernie speaks directly to listeners, alerting them to what will happen next and commenting on actions as they occur. Each chapter is dedicated to a family member who is responsible for a death. Welch keeps Ernie’s tongue-in-cheek attitude and direct comments amusing, making the tale of each character engrossing. Welch’s pace and tone deliver the high comedy of the occasionally farcical events, while his gravitas keeps the more intense scenarios edgy. S.J.H. © AudioFile 2023, Portland, Maine

From the Publisher

“A witty twist on classic whodunits… Stevenson not only 'plays fair,' he plays the mystery game very, very well.”Washington Post

“Exceptionally clever and amusing. ... Stevenson carries off this tour de force with all the aplomb of a master magician who conducts his tricks in plain view.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

“I absolutely loved it. Utterly original, hugely entertaining, and a must-read for every fan of the mystery genre. What an exceptionally fresh, smart, funny book—I’ve never read anything like this before.” — Jane Harper

“As fresh and zingy as a salted lime. It’s Knives Out meets Richard Osman. Or Dexter by way of Agatha Christie. Or Schitt’s Creek with a body count. It’s also the most luxuriantly enjoyable novel I’ve read in years. And years. I began toting my copy around town so that strangers would ask me about it—who could resist that title? I only wish there were more members of the Cunningham clan, so that this raucous, matchlessly entertaining mystery could go on longer. Benjamin Stevenson, I’ve got a lot to learn from you.” — AJ Finn

“A jaunty and clever mystery with unexpected twists. Absolutely not to be missed.” — Karin Slaughter

"Clever." — USA Today

“I absolutely LOVED it. It’s so engaging, entertaining and charming. I don’t think I’ve ever read anything like it. It was SUCH a fun read.”  — Marian Keyes

"An ingenious and hilarious meta-murder mystery." — Sunday Times (London), best crime of the year

“Resplendent in its sophisticated wit, characters with myriad motives and adroit plotting that indulges in clichés but manages to avoid the predictable. Stevenson also does the near impossible: he mixes the lightness of a cozy with the intensity of a hard-boiled thriller.” — Shelf Awareness

"Exceedingly clever... Read it once for fun and then again to see how it was done.” — CriminalElement.com

"Imaginative" — AARP Magazine

"Some readers are drawn to mysteries because they love the formula and logic—this one’s for them. ... This book and its author are cleverer than you and want you to know it." — Kirkus Reviews

Product Details

BN ID: 2940175368889
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 01/17/2023
Edition description: Unabridged
Sales rank: 200,463
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews