Written in Bone: Hidden Stories in What We Leave Behind

Written in Bone: Hidden Stories in What We Leave Behind

by Sue Black DBE, FRSE
Written in Bone: Hidden Stories in What We Leave Behind

Written in Bone: Hidden Stories in What We Leave Behind

by Sue Black DBE, FRSE

Paperback

$18.99 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

We were big fans of Sue Black’s 2020 All That Remains. Her latest book, Written in Bone continues the True Crime read without just being prurient. It's a treat for fans of Mary Roach, CSI shows, murder mysteries, and crime thrillers.

Winner of the Crime Writers’ Association ALCS Gold Dagger for Nonfiction—
A tour through the human skeleton and the secrets our bones reveal, from the author of All That Remains


In her memoir All That Remains, internationally renowned forensic anthropologist and human anatomist Dame Sue Black recounted her life lived eye to eye with the Grim Reaper. During the course of it, she offered a primer on the basics of identifying human remains, plenty of insights into the fascinating processes of death, and a sober, compassionate understanding of its inescapable presence in our existence, all leavened with her wicked sense of humor.
 
In her new book, Sue Black builds on the first, taking us on a guided tour of the human skeleton and explaining how each person's life history is revealed in their bones, which she calls "the last sentinels of our mortal life to bear witness to the way we lived it." Her narrative follows the skeleton from the top of the skull to the small bones in the foot. Each step of the journey includes an explanation of the biology—how the bone is formed in a person's development, how it changes as we age, the secrets it may hold—and is illustrated with anecdotes from the author's career helping solve crimes and identifying human remains, whether recent or historical. Written in Bone is full of entertaining stories that read like scenes from a true-life CSI drama, infused with humor and no-nonsense practicality about the realities of corpses and death.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781956763362
Publisher: Arcade
Publication date: 02/21/2023
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 40,255
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.80(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

Sue Black, DBE, FRSE, is one of the world's leading anatomists and forensic anthropologists. She is president of St. John’s College, Oxford and also the pro‑vice chancellor for engagement at Lancaster University. Her forensic expertise has been crucial to solving high‑profile criminal cases. She was the lead anthropologist for the British Forensics Team's work in the war crimes investigations in Kosovo, and she worked in Thailand after the 2004 Indian Ocean tsunami. She makes regular appearances on radio and television. She was appointed Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire in 2016 and a crossbench peer in 2021. She lives in Scotland.

Table of Contents

Introduction: The Skeleton 1

Part I The Head: Cranial Bones 13

1 The Brain Box: Neurocranium 15

2 The Face: Viscerocranium 49

Part II The Body: Postcranial Axial Bones 87

3 The Spine: Vertebral Column 89

4 The Chest: Thorax 123

5 The Throat: Hyoid and Larynx 151

Part III The Limbs: Postcranial Appendicular Bones 157

6 The Pectoral Girdle 159

7 The Pelvic Girdle 181

8 The Long Bones 193

9 The Hand 225

10 The Foot 253

Tailpiece 279

Acknowledgements 297

Index 299

About the Author 315

From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews