Pub. Date:
Within A Forest Dark (The Knights of England Series, Book 3): A Medieval Romance

Within A Forest Dark (The Knights of England Series, Book 3): A Medieval Romance

by Mary Ellen Johnson

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.94 $6.99 Save 44% Current price is $3.94, Original price is $6.99. You Save 44%.

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


His belief in the Perfection of Knighthood challenged by battlefield atrocities, Matthew Hart returns to London, wishing to reunite with his first love, Margery Watson.

Her cruel husband now dead, Margery is a wealthy widow with no intention of returning to the bonds of marriage. But she cannot turn away her once Golden Knight, no matter the depth of innocent blood he spilled in the name of honor and duty.

As Matthew forces himself to fulfill feudal obligations, and Margery's unrest turns treasonous, the forces of king and kingdom may prove the lovers' ultimate undoing.

THE KNIGHTS OF ENGLAND, in series order
The Lion and the Leopard
A Knight There Was
Within A Forest Dark
A Child Upon The Throne

historical fiction biographical / historical tudor / historical fiction vikings / Medieval historical / Medieval historical romance / medieval historical fiction / medieval historical fiction kindle books / Historical Literary fiction / Historical British fiction / Philippa Gregory / the last tudor philippa gregory / the plantagenet / the plantagenet and tudor novels / Bernard Cornwell / the flame bearer / agincourt bernard cornwell / the other queen by philippa gregory / lady of conquest / suzan tisdale / rodrick the bold / tamara leigh / the maclarens / the winter crown / Eleanor of Aquitaine / elizabeth chadwick / susan frasier king

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781614179146
Publisher: ePublishing Works!
Publication date: 01/10/2017
Series: The Knights of England Series , #3
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 274
File size: 997 KB

About the Author

Mary Ellen Johnson’s writing career was sparked by her passion for Medieval England. Her first medieval historical, The Lion and the Leopard, was followed by The Landlord’s Black-Eyed Daughter, a historical novel based on the Alfred Noyes poem, “The Highwayman.” (Published under the pseudonym, Mary Ellen Dennis.) Landlord was chosen as one of the top 100 historical romances of 2013.

After taking a twenty year detour in a quixotic quest to change the world--rather like Arthurian knights’ quests to find the holy grail, which ended in similar failure--Mary Ellen has happily returned to historical fiction writing and her favorite time period, the tumultuous fourteenth century. Her five book series, Knights of England, follows the fortunes of the characters (and their progeny) introduced in The Lion and the Leopard through the Black Death, the reign of that most gloriously medieval of monarchs, Edward III, the 1381 Peasants’ Revolt, and ends with the deposition and murder of Richard II in 1399.

There is nothing Mary Ellen loves more than bringing Medieval England alive for the reader. She particularly enjoys researching battles, campaigns, the daily lives of both lord and peasant, and trying to figure out our ancestors’ thought processes, particularly how they viewed their world. Oh, and did she mention the castles and cathedrals? Mary Ellen likes to say her favorite place in all the world is standing before the tomb of the Black Prince in Canterbury Cathedral. (Hyperbole, of course, since Mary Ellen is not that well-traveled and her favorite places are probably wherever her kids and grandkids reside.)

However--and the very recounting gives her chills--a distant cousin recently shared the results of her years-long genealogical research on the family tree. When flipping back and back through the centuries, Mary Ellen began finding names that were hauntingly familiar--John of Gaunt, Edward the Black Prince, Edward II, Edward III, even Richard the Lionheart! All the historical characters she’s spent a lifetime reading and writing about! How can that be? Genetic memory? Reincarnation? She has no idea but you can bet she’ll be exploring the possibilities in future novels!

In the meantime, Mary Ellen hopes you’ll enjoy reading The Lion and the Leopard, A Knight There Was, Within a Forest Dark and Lords Among the Ruins as much as she’s enjoyed writing them.

Customer Reviews