What This Comedian Said Will Shock You

What This Comedian Said Will Shock You

by Bill Maher
What This Comedian Said Will Shock You

What This Comedian Said Will Shock You

by Bill Maher

Hardcover

$30.00 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Sociopolitical commentary from the always hilarious, often controversial Bill Maher. As you'd expect from Maher, it pulls no punches, it comes at you hot and heavy and it will leave you thinking and thinking again.

The hilarious and controversial host of HBO’s Real Time with Bill Maher has written his funniest, most opinionated, and most necessary book ever—a brilliantly astute and acerbically funny vivisection of American life, politics, and culture.

Some of the smartest commentary about what’s happening in America is coming from a comedian—this comedian being Bill Maher. If you want to understand what’s wrong with this country, it turns out that one of the best informed and most thought-provoking analysts is this very funny pothead.

The book was inspired by the “editorial” Bill delivers at the end of each episode of Real Time. These editorials are direct-to-camera sermons about culture, politics, and what’s happening in the world. To put this book together, Maher reviewed more than a decade of his editorials, rewriting, reimagining, and updating them, and adding new material to speak exactly to the moment we’re in. Free speech, cops, drugs, race, religion, the generations, cancel culture, the parties, the media, show biz, romance, health—Maher covers it all. The result is a hugely entertaining work of commentary about American culture in the tradition of Mark Twain, Will Rogers, and H. L. Mencken.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781668051351
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Publication date: 05/21/2024
Pages: 400
Sales rank: 178
Product dimensions: 6.20(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.50(d)

About the Author

About The Author
Before hosting Real Time on HBO for the last twenty-one years, Bill Maher created and hosted Politically Incorrect on ABC. He lives in Los Angeles, California.

Hometown:

Los Angeles, California

Date of Birth:

January 20, 1956

Place of Birth:

New York, New York

Education:

B.A. in English, Cornell University, 1978
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews