Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
The Voice of Christmas: The Complete Decca Recordings

The Voice of Christmas: The Complete Decca Recordings

by Bing Crosby Bing Crosby


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, July 11


Subtitled The Complete Decca Christmas Songbook, Voice of Christmas features every holiday recording Bing Crosby made for Decca between 1935 and 1956. "White Christmas" is here, of course, in no less than four different versions, including a first-take attempt (with a Crosby fluff at the end) from 1942 that, amazingly, has stayed unreleased until now. All the Christmas tunes from the movies Holiday Inn and White Christmas are aboard as well (re-recorded versions with Peggy Lee in place of Rosemary Clooney on the White Christmas numbers), along with all the original tracks from Crosby's Merry Christmas, an album that has stayed in print in one format or another since 1945! Somber takes of "Silent Night" (three of 'em, from three different sessions), "Adeste Fideles" (two versions from different sessions), "God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen" and "Ave Maria" sit snugly alongside holiday fluff like "Rudolph, The Red Nosed Reindeer," "Santa Claus Is Comin' to Town," "It's Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas," "Here Comes Santa Claus," and seasonal favorites like "Sleigh Ride," "Jingle Bells," "Twelve Days of Christmas" and "The Christmas Song." The perfect Christmas music set, perhaps?

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/06/1998
Label: Mca
UPC: 0008811184025
catalogNumber: 11840
Rank: 176383


Disc 1

  1. Happy Holiday
  2. Silent Night
  3. Adeste Fideles
  4. Silent Night
  5. White Christmas
  6. Adeste Fideles
  7. Silent Night
  8. God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
  9. I'll Be Home for Christmas
  10. Ave Maria
  11. White Christmas
  12. Silent Night
  13. The Christmas Song
  14. O Fir Tree Dark
  15. The First Noel
  16. You're All I Want For Christmas
  17. Christmas Carols: Deck The Halls/Away In A Manger/I Saw Three Ships
  18. Christmas Carols: Good King Wenceslas/We Three Kings of Orient Are
  19. Rudolph The Red-Nosed Reindeer
  20. That Christmas Feeling
  21. Looks Like A Cold, Cold Winter
  22. A Marshmallow World

Disc 2

  1. Christmas in Killarney
  2. It's Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas
  3. Sleigh Ride
  4. Sleigh Bell Serenade
  5. Christmas Is A-Comin'
  6. The First Snowfall
  7. Is Christmas Only A Tree
  8. I Heard The Bells On Christmas Day
  9. Jingle Bells
  10. Santa Claus Is Coming to Town
  11. The Twelve Days of Christmas
  12. Here Comes Santa Claus
  13. A Crosby Christmas, Pt. 1: That Christmas Feeling/I'd Like to Hitch ...
  14. A Crosby Christmas, Pt. 2: The Snowman/That Christmas Feeling/I'd ...
  15. Poppa Santa Claus
  16. Mele Kalikimaka
  17. Silver Bells
  18. Little Jack Frost, Get Lost
  19. White Christmas
  20. Snow
  21. White Christmas
  22. Let's Start The New Year Right

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Bing Crosby   Primary Artist
Andrews Sisters   Track Performer
Danny Kaye   Track Performer
Peggy Lee   Vocals,Track Performer

Technical Credits

Franz Schubert   Composer
Louie Bellson   Composer
Buck Ram   Composer
Franz Gruber   Composer
Peter DeRose   Composer
Tom Ellard   Composer
Kim Gannon   Composer
Jack Hayes   Composer
Walter Kent   Composer
Andy McKaie   Executive Producer
Carl Sigman   Composer
Frederick Oakeley   Composer
John Francis Wade   Composer
Joseph Mohr   Composer
William Sandys   Composer
Traditional   Composer
James Pierpont   Composer

Customer Reviews