B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
The Time Jumpers

The Time Jumpers

by The Time Jumpers The Time Jumpers


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, July 8


In a city that's home to as many fine pickers as Nashville, it takes something special to become a local legend, and the Time Jumpers have earned a large and loyal following in Music City for their loving, lively take on classic Western Swing and old-school country. Formed by a handful of first-call session musicians eager to play for the fun of it, the Time Jumpers have been holding down a Monday night gig at Nashville's Station Inn since 1998, and in 2007 they released a live album, Jumpin' Time, that captured their easygoing energy in front of an appreciative audience. Their self-titled sophomore release is something of a different animal; it's the first studio set from the Time Jumpers, and while covers dominated the live album, nine of the twelve songs here are originals written by members of the group. The band has also gone through a few significant personnel changes; legendary pedal steel player John Hughey passed on shortly after Jumpin' Time reached stores, with his friend Paul Franklin taking his place, while bona fide Nashville star Vince Gill has joined the lineup. Gill wrote five of the nine originals on The Time Jumpers and sings lead on most of them, but his guitar work blends comfortably with the group's retro sound, and he clearly respects this music far too much to hog the spotlight. Gill's songs evoke vintage Nashville sounds rather than the Texas-centric vibe of the live set, but "The Woman of My Dreams" and "On the Outskirts of Town" are perfect for these players, and "Faint of Heart" is a heck of a torch song (and Dawn Sears gives it a superb vocal reading). Elsewhere, Doug Green (better known as Ranger Doug of Riders in the Sky) contributes a pitch-perfect sagebrush number in "Ridin' On the Rio," the fiddlers get their time to shine on "Texoma Bound," "Nothin' But the Blues" is worthy of Bob Wills himself, and if "Texas On a Saturday Night" doesn't make you long for a roadhouse in the Lone Star state, you may not be all that big on this country music stuff in the first place. The Time Jumpers doesn't come close to catching the excitement of the group on-stage, but it admirably documents their superb instrumental abilities as well as a genuine sense of fun, and with Gill on board as a songwriter, they're no longer beholden to the past for fresh material, which bodes well for their future.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/11/2012
Label: Rounder / Umgd
UPC: 0011661914827
catalogNumber: 619148
Rank: 8362


  1. Texoma Bound
  2. Nothing But The Blues
  3. The Woman Of My Dreams
  4. So Far Apart
  5. Ridin' On The Rio
  6. New Star Over Texas
  7. Texas On A Saturday Night
  8. Faint Of Heart
  9. On The Outskirts Of Town
  10. Yodel Blues
  11. Three Sides To Every Story
  12. Someone Had To Teach You

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Time Jumpers   Primary Artist
Dawn Sears   Vocals,Vocal Harmony,Group Member
Dennis Crouch   Upright Bass,Group Member
Ranger Doug Green   Rhythm Guitar,Vocals,Group Member
Larry Franklin   Fiddle,Group Member
Paul Franklin   Pedal Steel Guitar,Group Member
Vince Gill   Electric Guitar,Vocals,Vocal Harmony,Group Member
Andy Reiss   Electric Guitar,Group Member
Kenny Sears   Fiddle,Vocals,Group Member
Joe Spivey   Fiddle,Vocal Harmony,Group Member
Billy Thomas   Vocal Harmony,Group Member
Rick Vanaugh   Drums
Jeff Taylor   Piano,Accordion,Group Member

Technical Credits

Anderson   Composer
Dawn Sears   Composer
Larry Franklin   Composer
Vince Gill   Composer
Harlan Howard   Composer
Johnny Mercer   Composer
Justin Niebank   Engineer
Steve Oliver   Composer
Kenny Sears   Composer
Drew Bollman   Engineer
Justin Neibank   Engineer
Craig Havighurst   Liner Notes
Leslie Satcher   Composer
Time Jumpers   Producer
Jimmy Miles   Composer
Larissa Collins   Art Direction
Robert Emmet Dolan   Composer
Douglas B. Green   Composer
Matt Rausch   Engineer
Reed Nielson   Composer
Mundo Earwood   Composer
Bill Hervey   Composer

Customer Reviews