B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
The Sun Room

The Sun Room

by Avery Sunshine Avery Sunshine


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 30


Soul singer, pianist, and songwriter Avery Sunshine made her self-titled debut back in 2010. The record was embraced by BBC's Radio 2 and a slew of European DJs both on radio and in clubs, prompting a spot on Later...With Jools Holland (an appearance that apparently blew away Ringo Starr). Subsequently she toured, opening for everyone from B.B. King to Eric Benét; from Musiq (Soulchild) to Ledisi. Her single "Ugly Part of Me" made its way into BillBoard's Top 20 on the Urban chart. Her long-awaited follow-up -- again recorded and written with musical partner, guitarist Dana "Big Dane" Johnson -- does not disappoint; if anything, it further establishes her as a singular talent. Sunshine uses the source inspirations of classic R&B from Memphis, Detroit, and Philly, and places them in decidedly modern context, setting her apart from retro-soul revivalists. Check the ballad (and first single) "Call My Name," with its sultry weave of guitars, rubbery bassline, and her piano fluidly underscoring her vocal in this stirring torch song. On opener "Won't You Try," she uses the example of Hi Records' Willie Mitchell and Al Green in a classic club fingerpopper. "One Foot Ahead" uses jazz syncopation and reggae inside a lithe funk. "Meditation No. 1 (Conversation with God)" recontextualizes 21st century gospel inside dreamy neo-soul. "I Do Love You (You Ain't Got to Lie)" weds early Motown and Southern gospel, Etta James, and Jill Scott. "See You When I Get There," with its clavinet, electric piano, horns, and loops, carries a groove so infectious, slippery, and funky, it could be the follow-up single. Closer "Safe in His Arms" showcases Sunshine's prodigious piano talents. It is a striking gospel tune that addresses a soldier, exhorting her/him to have faith when returning to the battlefield. One can hear traces of both Dorothy Love Coates and Nina Simone in her delivery -- which is no mean feat. The Sun Room is more diverse than her debut, and reveals the expansion of Sunshine's musical vision on The Sun Room, combined with a maturity and self-assuredness that further engrave her musical signature in the R&B lexicon.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 05/27/2014
Label: Shanachie
UPC: 0016351582027
catalogNumber: 5820
Rank: 58394


  1. Won't You Try
  2. Call My Name
  3. Sywigt Interlude
  4. One Foot Ahead
  5. Meditation #1 (Conversation With God)
  6. Time to Shine
  7. Nothing to Something
  8. I Do Love You (You Ain't Got to Lie)
  9. Meditation #2 (Conversation With Him)
  10. Sweet Afternoon
  11. See You When I Get There
  12. Safe in His Arms

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Avery Sunshine   Primary Artist,Piano,Keyboards,fender rhodes
Jamie Anderson   Saxophone
Sid Gauld   Trumpet
Dana Johnson   Bass,Guitar,Tambourine
Lil John Roberts   Percussion,Drums
Jamie Portee   fender rhodes
Maurice Fitzgerald   Bass
Rick Watford   Guitar
James Barrett   Drums
Tres' Gilbert   Bass
Rodney East   Piano
Trevor Mires   Trombone
Daniel Moore   Organ,Keyboards,Hammond B3
James R. Barrett   Drums
Clarence "T-Lee" Hill   Keyboards
Demonterious Lawrence   Bass
Christopher Alpiar   Gong
Brandon Gilliard   Bass

Technical Credits

Jamie Anderson   Horn Arrangements
Darius Brooks   Composer
Sid Gauld   Horn Arrangements
Dana Johnson   Composer,Producer,Engineer,Executive Producer,drum programming
Jean-Paul "Bluey" Maunick   Producer
Jamie Portee   Composer
Denise N. White   Executive Producer
Demien DeSandies   Composer,Instrumentation
Trevor Mires   Horn Arrangements
Avery Sunshine   Composer,Whistle
Floyd Wilkinson   Whistle
Mo Hausler   Engineer
Anita Wilson   Whistle
Clarence "T-Lee" Hill   Composer,Instrumentation
Shannon McCollum   Cover Photo
Coriology   Vocal Arrangements
Ithan Payne   Art Direction

Customer Reviews