ISBN-10:
0316539546
ISBN-13:
9780316539548
Pub. Date:
Publisher:
The Silver Arrow

The Silver Arrow

by Lev Grossman

Paperback

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, October 25

Click here for a special Certificate of Conductorship to print out for your young reader.


Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Lev Grossman is best known for his bestselling adult works, but his middle grade debut is undoubtedly one for the ages as well. When Kate’s eccentric uncle gifts her with a magical train for her birthday, she sets off on an adventure with her younger brother, Tom, through faraway lands accompanied by an assortment of talking animals. This rollicking tale with an important message is perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and The Phantom Tollbooth.

New York Times bestseller!

A PeopleMagazine Best Book of the Year

"I loved every page. This is middle grade fiction at its best."— Ann Patchett

 From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Magicians comes a must-read, wholly original middle-grade debut perfect for fans of The Chronicles of Narnia and Roald Dahl.

Dear Uncle Herbert,
You've never met me, but I'm your niece Kate, and since it is my birthday tomorrow and you are super-rich could you please send me a present?

Kate and her younger brother Tom lead dull, uninteresting lives. And if their dull, uninteresting parents are anything to go by, they don't have much to look forward to. Why can't Kate have thrilling adventures and save the world the way people do in books? Even her 11th birthday is shaping up to be mundane — that is, until her mysterious and highly irresponsible Uncle Herbert, whom she's never even met before, surprises her with the most unexpected, exhilarating, inappropriate birthday present of all time: a colossal steam locomotive called the Silver Arrow.

Kate and Tom's parents want to send it right back where it came from. But Kate and Tom have other ideas — and so does the Silver Arrow — and soon they're off to distant lands along magical rail lines in the company of an assortment of exotic animals who, it turns out, can talk. With only curiosity, excitement, their own resourcefulness and the thrill of the unknown to guide them, Kate and Tom are on the adventure of a lifetime . . . and who knows? They just might end up saving the world after all.

This thrilling fantasy adventure will not only entertain young readers but inspire them to see the beautiful, exciting, and precious world around them with new eyes.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780316539548
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication date: 08/31/2021
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 5,472
Product dimensions: 5.20(w) x 7.60(h) x 0.90(d)
Lexile: 740L (what's this?)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Lev Grossman is the author of five novels including the #1 New York Times bestselling Magicians trilogy, which has been published in thirty countries. A TV adaptation of the trilogy is now in its fifth season as the top-rated show on Syfy. Grossman is also an award-winning journalist who spent fifteen years as the book critic and lead technology writer at Time magazine, where he published more than twenty cover stories. In addition he has written for the New York Times, the Wall Street Journal, Wired, the Believer, the Village Voice, NPR, Salon, Slate, and Buzzfeed, among many others. He lives in New York City with his wife and three children.

Customer Reviews