Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
The Silence Between Us

The Silence Between Us

by Alison Gervais
The Silence Between Us

The Silence Between Us

by Alison Gervais

Paperback

$10.99
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, August 19

Overview

Schneider Family Book Award, Best Teen Honor Book 2020

Contemporary fiction fans will find it hard to put down The Silence Between Us—a YA novel that doesn’t shy away from real-life issues including the challenges faced by those in the Deaf culture, relationship struggles, communication problems, and complicated families.

Deaf teen Maya moves across the country and must attend a hearing school for the first time. As if that wasn’t hard enough, she also has to adjust to the hearing culture, which she finds frustrating. As Maya looks past graduation and focuses on her future dreams, nothing, not even an unexpected romance, will derail her pursuits or cause her to question her own self worth.

The Silence Between Us:

  • Features a Deaf protagonist and an #Own Voices perspective on Deaf and Hard of Hearing culture
  • Is a clean YA romance by Wattpad sensation Alison Gervais
  • Is perfect for fans of Nicola Yoon and Ce Ce Bell
  • Includes an interview with the author and a commentary on cochlear implants by Alison

The Silence Between Us is eminently un-put-down-able.” (NPR)

“Gervais deftly renders both the nuanced, everyday realities of life with disability and Maya’s fierce pride in her Deafness, delivering a vibrant story that will resonate with Deaf and hearing audiences alike.” – Booklist

“A solid addition to middle/high school fiction that allows for deep discussion about stereotypes concerning disabilities.” School Library Journal

“This is a great YA contemporary (clean) romance that follows Maya as she navigates a new school and plans for her future. The addition of representation by a Deaf character was really beautifully done. Highly recommend for people looking for a sweet, engaging, and educational romantic read.” (YA and Kids Book Central)



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780310766001
Publisher: Blink
Publication date: 03/01/2022
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 62,442
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.30(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 13 - 17 Years

About the Author

Alison Gervais began writing at the age of five and gained recognition by posting her work on Wattpad in 2011. She graduated from Colorado State University - Pueblo with a degree in English and published her first novel, In 27 Days, in 2017. Alison currently resides on the East coast with her husband, their daughter, two cats, and one very mischievous German Shepherd.

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items