The Sherlock Holmes Canon

The Sherlock Holmes Canon

by Arthur Conan Doyle


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, June 22


Sir Arthur Ignatius Conan Doyle (22 May 1859 - 7 July 1930) was a Scottish physician and writer who is most noted for his fictional stories about the detective Sherlock Holmes, which are generally considered milestones in the field of crime fiction. He is also known for writing the fictional adventures of a second character he invented, Professor Challenger, and for popularising the mystery of the Mary Celeste. He was a prolific writer whose other works include fantasy and science fiction stories, plays, romances, poetry, non-fiction, and historical novels.
The traditional Sherlock Holmes canon consists of four novels and fifty-six short stories collected.
In this book:
A Study in Scarlet (published 1887)
The Sign of the Four (published 1890)
The Hound of the Baskervilles (serialised 1901-1902 in The Strand)
The Valley of Fear (serialised 1914-1915)
Short stories
The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (published 1892)
The Memoirs of Sherlock Holmes (published 1894)
The Return of Sherlock Holmes (published 1905)
His Last Bow (published 1917)

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781500120764
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 06/07/2014
Pages: 608
Product dimensions: 8.30(w) x 10.90(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

A prolific author of books, short stories, poetry, and more, the Scottish writer Sir Arthur Conan Doyle (1859-1930) is best known for the creation of one of literature’s most vivid and enduring characters: Sherlock Holmes. Through detailed observation, vast knowledge, and brilliant deduction, Holmes and his trusted friend, Dr. Watson, step into the swirling fog of Victorian London to rescue the innocent, confound the guilty, and solve the most perplexing puzzles known to literature.

Date of Birth:

May 22, 1859

Date of Death:

July 7, 1930

Place of Birth:

Edinburgh, Scotland

Place of Death:

Crowborough, Sussex, England


Edinburgh University, B.M., 1881; M.D., 1885

Customer Reviews