Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
The Shadow in the Glass

The Shadow in the Glass

by JJA Harwood
The Shadow in the Glass

The Shadow in the Glass

by JJA Harwood

Paperback

$13.49 $16.99 Save 21% Current price is $13.49, Original price is $16.99. You Save 21%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, October 5

Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

This may look like another Cinderella retelling, but The Shadow in the Glass offers a bit of a mashup — part historical fiction, part gothic horror, part fantasy, wrapped up in a very twisted mystery. If you thought the Brothers Grimm version was dark, the Faustian spin woven through this tale will leave you gobsmacked. Atmospheric and slightly terrifying, this chilling take on a classic makes you rethink the whole “A dream is a wish your heart makes” fantasy.

A deliciously gothic story of wishes and curses – a new dark fairy tale set against a Victorian backdrop full of lace and smoke.

‘Deliciously dark’
Woman Magazine

Once upon a time Ella had wished for more than her life as a lowly maid.

Now forced to work hard under the unforgiving, lecherous gaze of the man she once called stepfather, Ella’s only refuge is in the books she reads by candlelight, secreted away in the library she isn’t permitted to enter.

One night, among her beloved books of far-off lands, Ella’s wishes are answered. At the stroke of midnight, a fairy godmother makes her an offer that will change her life: seven wishes, hers to make as she pleases. But each wish comes at a price and Ella must decide whether it’s one she’s willing to pay…

A smouldering, terrifying new spin on Cinderella – perfect for fans of Laura Purcell and Erin Morgenstern.



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780008368135
Publisher: HarperCollins UK
Publication date: 04/26/2022
Pages: 416
Sales rank: 1,712
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 7.20(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

JJA Harwood is an author, editor and blogger. She grew up in Norfolk, read History at the University of Warwick and eventually found her way to London, which is still something of a shock for somebody used to so many fields.
When not writing, she can be found learning languages, cooking with more enthusiasm than skill, wandering off into clearly haunted houses and making friends with stray cats. THE SHADOW IN THE GLASS is her debut novel.

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items