Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
The Seventh Queen: A Novel

The Seventh Queen: A Novel

by Greta Kelly

Narrated by Imani Jade Powers

Unabridged — 13 hours, 33 minutes

Greta Kelly
The Seventh Queen: A Novel

The Seventh Queen: A Novel

by Greta Kelly

Narrated by Imani Jade Powers

Unabridged — 13 hours, 33 minutes

Greta Kelly

Audiobook (Digital)

$11.99
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription| Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $11.99

Overview

After the gasp-inducing cliffhanger ending of The Frozen Crown, the exciting conclusion to the epic story of Askia-a warrior, witch, and queen-to-be-as she confronts the monster that stole her throne¿and is holding her prisoner to steal her magic.

The Empire of Vishir has lost its ruler, and the fight to save Seravesh from the Roven Empire is looking bleak. Moreover, Askia has been captured by power-hungry Emperor Radovan, who plans on making her his wife simply so he can take her magic as his own, killing her in the process. Aware of his ex-wives' fates, Askia must find a means of avoiding this doom, not only for the sake of Seravesh, but now for Vishir as well. She must put both nations first and remember Ozura's advice: you must play the game in order to survive. Askia was born a soldier, but now it's time to become a spy. 

But it's hard to play a game where the only person who knows the rules wants to kill her. 

And time is a factor. The jewel Radovan has put around her neck will pull her power from her in thirty days. Worse, Vishir might not even have that long, as the two heirs to the throne are on the verge of civil war. Without any hope for help from the south, without any access to her magic, alone in a hostile land, Askia is no closer to freeing her people than she was when she fled to Vishir. In the clutches of a madman, the only thing she's close to is death.

Yet she'd trade her life for a chance to save Seravesh. The problem: she may not have that choice. 



Related collections and offers

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

★ 05/03/2021

Picking up right where The Frozen Crown left off, Kelly’s latest feminist epic fantasy is even better than her debut. After death witch Askia, Queen of Seravesh, witnesses the assassination of her new husband, Emperor Armaan of Vishir, before the marriage is even consummated, she is abducted and imprisoned by Radovan, Emperor of Roven. Magic is rare and specialized in this world, and Radovan is building a collection siphoned from his string of murdered wives. He’s acquired all types of magic but one: death magic, Askia’s specialty. Askia has just one month before Radovan’s Aellium stone drains her of her magic and traps her soul, and the enchanted chain keeping the stone around her neck suppresses her powers such that while she can still see the dead, she’s unable to summon them or compel them to do her bidding. But with the ghosts of Radovan’s six murdered witch-queens on her side, Askia has a fighting chance to end Radovan’s reign of terror. Complex worldbuilding and fascinating characters propel the intricate plot to a deeply satisfying climax. Sword-and-sorcery fans won’t be able to put down this gripping tale of female solidarity and triumph. Agent: Stephanie Kim, New Leaf Literary. (Nov.)

From the Publisher

"Complex worldbuilding and fascinating characters propel the intricate plot to a deeply satisfying climax. Sword-and-sorcery fans won’t be able to put down this gripping tale of female solidarity and triumph." — Publishers Weekly (starred review)

"Kelly’s plotlines fit together like an intricate puzzle, and the hints of romance and in-your-face betrayals keep the pages turning... A satisfying conclusion that showcases intriguing characters, epic worldbuilding, and all the political and personal scheming a reader could want." — Library Journal

"The satisfying conclusion to the story launched in The Frozen Crown features incisive prose, along with a plot that continues to defy fantasy tropes." — BookPage

"A hidden gem!"  — BiblioSanctum

“Filled with magic, war, and intrigue, this thrilling high fantasy questions how much a ruler should be willing to sacrifice for the sake of duty. Vivid worldbuilding, high stakes, and just a hint of romance propel the twisty plot to a cliffhanger finale. Readers will be on the edges of their seats as they await the next installment.” — Publishers Weekly (starred review) on The Frozen Crown

“Kelly’s debut is a vivid epic fantasy of high political and personal stakes. Fans of Jennifer Estep’s Crown of Shards series will find much to love in the first of a duology.”  — Library Journal (starred review) (Debut of the Month, Jan 2021) on The Frozen Crown

“Packed with deadly intrigue, fierce and powerful women, and high stakes, Greta Kelly’s fantasy-adventure debut, The Frozen Crown, is an exciting and intricate series opener … Fans of Sarah J. Maas and Mary E. Pearson should make sure to snap it up.” — Shelf Awareness

“Fans of Jeffe Kennedy’s Forgotten Empires series, and fantasy readers looking for elements of intrigue and romance, will find The Frozen Crown a fast-paced, exciting read.” — Booklist

Booklist

Fans of Jeffe Kennedy’s Forgotten Empires series, and fantasy readers looking for elements of intrigue and romance, will find The Frozen Crown a fast-paced, exciting read.

Shelf Awareness

Packed with deadly intrigue, fierce and powerful women, and high stakes, Greta Kelly’s fantasy-adventure debut, The Frozen Crown, is an exciting and intricate series opener … Fans of Sarah J. Maas and Mary E. Pearson should make sure to snap it up.

BiblioSanctum

"A hidden gem!" 

BookPage

"The satisfying conclusion to the story launched in The Frozen Crown features incisive prose, along with a plot that continues to defy fantasy tropes."

Booklist

Fans of Jeffe Kennedy’s Forgotten Empires series, and fantasy readers looking for elements of intrigue and romance, will find The Frozen Crown a fast-paced, exciting read.

Emily Duncan

Propulsive and intricate, Kelly has constructed a world of twisting politics and thrilling magic following a heroine who is both clever and uncompromising, but ultimately, has heart. A stellar read that I thoroughly enjoyed.” 

Library Journal

08/01/2021

This sequel picks up exactly where The Frozen Crown left off, with heroine Askia of Seravesh in the hands of the Roven Empire. Emperor Radovan has killed her new husband, the ruler of Vishir, and will make Askia his wife in order to claim the magic she holds. Askia only has 30 days before she follows in the steps of Radovan's six previous brides before her and is killed for her death-magic. Yet not all of Askia's power is trapped, and she has the spirits of the late wives and Queen Ozura of Vishir to advise her. Askia is not only a princess and a witch; she is a warrior, and now she will use all of her knowledge and ability to save her people from war, no matter the cost. But time and hope are fleeting, for Askia and for her countries of Seravesh and Vishir. Kelly's plotlines fit together like an intricate puzzle, and the hints of romance and in-your-face betrayals keep the pages turning. Her characters' races are nonspecific. VERDICT A satisfying conclusion that showcases intriguing characters, epic worldbuilding, and all the political and personal scheming a reader could want.—Kristi Chadwick, Massachusetts Lib. Syst., Northampton

Product Details

BN ID: 2940176255515
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 09/14/2022
Series: Warrior Witch Duology , #2
Edition description: Unabridged

Customer Reviews