The Secret Life of the Seine

The Secret Life of the Seine

by Mort Rosenblum

Paperback(Reprint)

$17.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 24

Overview

Mort Rosenblum, a celebrated foreign correspondent, invites us aboard his fifty-four-foot launch tied up in the center of Paris and introduces us to the characters who share his life along the river, ranging from eccentric movie stars and reclusive novelists to barge families just scraping by. He then hauls in the bow line for an unforgettable tour of the river itself from its source to its mouth. The Secret Life of the Seine is a love story between man and boat and the river that they live on, a discourse on the sensual beauty of France and the art of living well. In the tradition of A Year in Provence, Under the Tuscan Sun, and Paris to the Moon, here is what Garry Trudeau called "a moveable feast [with] a top speed of five knots—fast enough for fun, languid enough for dreaming. Take a trip you'll never take: This is what books are for."

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780306810749
Publisher: Hachette Books
Publication date: 10/23/2001
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 304
Sales rank: 854,746
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.25(h) x (d)

About the Author

Mort Rosenblum, a special correspondent for the Associated Press and former editor-in-chief of the International Herald Tribune, is the author of Mission to Civilize, Back Home, Who Stole the News?, and, most recently, A Goose in Toulouse and Other Culinary Adventures in France. He lives in Paris.

Customer Reviews