Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Nathaniel Hawthorne's The Scarlet Letter unveils a riveting tale set in 17th-century Puritan New England. Hester Prynne, marked by the scarlet letter "A" for her sin, navigates the complex web of guilt, societal judgment, and personal redemption. Hawthorne's masterful narrative explores the timeless themes of love, morality, and the enduring consequences of hidden transgressions. A classic exploration of the human condition, The Scarlet Letter remains a compelling and thought-provoking journey into the depths of the human soul.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9798869089144
Publisher: Natal Publishing, LLC
Publication date: 12/31/2023
Pages: 290
Sales rank: 79,596
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.65(d)

About the Author

About The Author

One of the greatest authors in American literature, Nathaniel Hawthorne (1804-1864) was a novelist and short story writer born in Salem, Massachusetts. Hawthorne’s best-known books include The House of the Seven Gables and The Scarlet Letter, works marked by a psychological depth and moral insight seldom equaled by other writers.

Date of Birth:

July 4, 1804

Date of Death:

May 19, 1864

Place of Birth:

Salem, Massachusetts

Place of Death:

Plymouth, New Hampshire


Bowdoin College, Brunswick, Maine, 1824

Table of Contents

Insights into Nathaniel Hawthorne7
Chapter 1The Prison Door14
Chapter 2The Marketplace17
Chapter 3The Recognition28
Chapter 4The Interview39
Chapter 5Hester at Her Needle (Summary)47
Chapter 6Pearl48
Chapter 7The Governor's Hall (Summary)59
Chapter 8The Elf-Child and the Minister61
Chapter 9The Leech (Summary)71
Chapter 10The Leech and His Patient73
Chapter 11The Interior of a Heart (Summary)83
Chapter 12The Minister's Vigil84
Chapter 13Another View of Hester (Summary)97
Chapter 14Hester and the Doctor99
Chapter 15Hester and Pearl106
Chapter 16A Forest Walk114
Chapter 17The Pastor and His Parishioner121
Chapter 18A Flood of Sunshine131
Chapter 19The Child at the Brookside139
Chapter 20The Minister in a Maze147
Chapter 21The New England Holiday (Summary)159
Chapter 22The Procession (Summary)160
Chapter 23The Revelation162
Chapter 24Conclusion173
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews