The Prospectors (Barnes & Noble Book Club Edition)

The Prospectors (Barnes & Noble Book Club Edition)

by Ariel Djanikian
The Prospectors (Barnes & Noble Book Club Edition)

The Prospectors (Barnes & Noble Book Club Edition)

by Ariel Djanikian

Hardcover(Barnes & Noble Book Club Edition)

$30.00 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

An expansive story told with beautiful prose, The Prospectors is the story of an ill-gotten inheritance a century in the making, and the fluctuating morality of it. This captivating novel is told in the heart of the gold rush and in hindsight one-hundred years later, examining the lasting damage done by it.

This Barnes & Noble Book Club Edition will have a unique jacket and endpapers, an author essay and a helpful reading group guide.

A sweeping rags-to-riches story of survival, greed, and injustice across American history following a family transformed by the Klondike Gold Rush, perfect for readers of The Luminaries and How Much of These Hills Is Gold.

“Told in glimmering prose and rich with historical detail, The Prospectors immerses us in the Yukon Gold Rush so deeply, you can feel the grit on your hands.”—Celeste Ng, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Our Missing Hearts

The middle daughter of struggling California fruit farmers, Alice Bush is accustomed to feeling inferior and destitute. But when her elder sister’s husband strikes a vein of gold in the Yukon Territory, Alice finally seizes control of her destiny by joining a wave of white settlers making the dangerous trek to the Klondike.

What follows is an awakening of ambition for the quietly opportunistic Alice, who, by luck and circumstance, becomes tightly intertwined in her sister and brother-in-law’s newfound fortune, as well as the beginning of a generations-long family quest for wealth that unfolds against the icy Canadian wilderness and the booming oilfields of California.

One hundred years later, in 2015, Alice’s great-great-granddaughter Anna must grapple with moral conflict and questions of justice as she travels to the Klondike to bequeath her would-be inheritance to the First Nations peoples who paid the price for its creation.

Bringing the Klondike and turn-of-the-century California to vivid life, Ariel Djanikian weaves an ambitious narrative of claiming the American Dream and its rippling effects across generations. Sweeping and awe-inspiring, The Prospectors is an unforgettable story of family loyalties that interrogates the often-overlooked hostilities and inequities born during the Gold Rush era.


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780063379084
Publisher: HarperCollins
Publication date: 10/03/2023
Edition description: Barnes & Noble Book Club Edition
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 5,136
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 9.20(h) x 1.30(d)
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews