The Nanotech Succession Omnibus Edition

The Nanotech Succession Omnibus Edition

by Linda Nagata
The Nanotech Succession Omnibus Edition

The Nanotech Succession Omnibus Edition

by Linda Nagata



Available on Compatible NOOK devices, the free NOOK App and in My Digital Library.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Related collections and offers

LEND ME® See Details


The Nanotech Succession is a collection of four stand-alone novels exploring the rise of nanotechnology and the strange and fascinating future that follows—beginning tomorrow and reaching far into time.

First on the timeline is the prequel Tech-Heaven. In an act of love and hope Katie Kishida has her husband's body placed in cryonic suspension—frozen in liquid nitrogen against a time when advancing technology might heal his injuries and restore his life—never suspecting the consequences that will follow. Tech-Heaven is a compelling story of devotion and unyielding determination set amid the tumultuous politics of our time, in a world that is teetering on the cusp of a technological revolution like no other in history.

Book 1 is the groundbreaking novel The Bohr Maker. Genetically engineered to survive in the airless void of space, Nikko is the first true "post human," but the research permit that allows his existence is about to expire. Nikko's only hope for survival rides on an illegal and extremely powerful nanotech device known as the Bohr Maker, that will allow him to rewrite his genetic code and extend his life. When his plans go awry, the Maker escapes into the wild, infecting a young woman named Phousita. Together, Phousita and Nikko must evade the ruthless pursuit of the Commonwealth police, both to preserve their own lives and to save the Bohr Maker, which holds the promise of re-defining humanity—for good or for ill. A brilliantly original, fast-paced thriller, The Bohr Maker won the Locus Award for Best First Novel.

Book 2 is Deception Well. In a war of belief, faith is a virus, and it's spreading fast. Remnants of an alien nanotechnology infest the surface of the planet, Deception Well, giving rise to deadly plagues that make the Well uninhabitable—or so most believe. Jupiter Apolinario saw it differently, believing the planet was host to an ancient, alien mechanism of transformation meant to embrace all life forms in an ecstatic communion. Ten years after Jupiter disappears on the planet, his son, Lot, stands at the center of conflict. Like his father, Lot has a seductive presence, and a charismatic nature that seems more-than-human. People are helplessly drawn to him. Their faith in him is strong and their numbers are growing, but Lot is beset with doubts about his father's teachings. So he sets out to learn the truth about Jupiter, about his own powerful calling as a prophet, and about the real nature of Deception Well.

Book 3 is Vast. Aboard Null Boundary, a giant starship thousands of years old, four survivors of an ancient alien war are making a desperate journey. They are bound into unknown territory. Ahead of them loom vast, lightless clouds of dust and gas where stars are born, and where the alien Chenzeme are believed to live. The Chenzeme are an enigmatic race, whose automated warships have ravaged the living worlds of the galaxy's Orion arm for millions of years...but why? Null Boundary's crew is driven to find out—though in their quest to discover the source of the Chenzeme, they must also explore the terrible truth of their own past, the meaning of revenge, and the price each one of them is willing to pay for survival.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940161515020
Publisher: Mythic Island Press LLC
Publication date: 02/01/2012
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: eBook
Sales rank: 583,658
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Linda Nagata is a writer best known for her high-tech science fiction, including the near-future military thriller, The Last Good Man, and the Red trilogy, an intersection of artificial intelligence and military fiction. Her work has been nominated for the Hugo, Nebula, Locus, John W. Campbell Memorial, and Theodore Sturgeon Memorial awards. She has won the Nebula and is a two-time winner of the Locus award. Linda has lived most of her life in Hawaii, where she’s been a writer, a mom, a programmer of database-driven websites, and an independent publisher.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews