The Mounted Police Novels: Volume 4-The Flaming Forest & Five Short Stories

The Mounted Police Novels: Volume 4-The Flaming Forest & Five Short Stories

by James Oliver Curwood


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, May 14


The final volume of four great books of the adventures of the Mounted Police

In Curwood, the famous 'Mounties' had possibly their first and most enthusiastic champion and author of their adventures of fiction and legend. The image of the lone policeman out in the Canadian wilderness enduring every force nature could hurl against him and yet still resolutely and infallibly 'getting his man' was never more powerful than in the pages of Curwood's stories. His inspiration came from a time before 'The Royal Canadian Mounted Police', when the force was titled, 'The North West Mounted Police' and of course this meant the adventures are set in an earlier era-the Canada of the 19th century-where the untamed land was sparsely populated with untamed men and the tribes of indigenous Indians that might yet be hostile. These men were policemen, trappers, trackers, rangers, part lawman, part soldier-often imagined in their distinctive scarlet uniform-in fact the very stuff which has evoked true adventure in the minds of those aged from 8 to 80!
In this final volume of the special Leonaur four volume collection of Curwood's stories of the Mounties, readers will discover the full length novel, 'The Flaming Forest' accompanied by five shorter pieces of the police in action-'The Fiddling Man,' 'The Match,' 'The Yellow-Back,' 'The Case of Beauvais' and 'The Mouse.'

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780857060976
Publisher: Oakpast
Publication date: 06/07/2010
Pages: 256
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.50(h) x 0.58(d)

Customer Reviews