Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
The Lighthouse Sisters: Inspired by heart-wrenching true events, a gripping and emotional World War Two historical novel

The Lighthouse Sisters: Inspired by heart-wrenching true events, a gripping and emotional World War Two historical novel

by Gill Thompson
The Lighthouse Sisters: Inspired by heart-wrenching true events, a gripping and emotional World War Two historical novel

The Lighthouse Sisters: Inspired by heart-wrenching true events, a gripping and emotional World War Two historical novel

by Gill Thompson

eBook

$2.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

'I loved this heart-in-your-mouth story of forbidden love, courage and hope. A heart-wrenching book about family bonds facing the toughest of trials during WW2' KERRY FISHER
'A stunning tale about sisters, courage, and sacrifice that will keep you enthralled until the very last page' ANDIE NEWTON
'Really brought a lump to my throat. It has stayed with me since finishing it' SUZANNE GOLDRING
'Heart-wrenching, immersive, beautifully researched. I thoroughly recommend, together with a tissue for this emotional read!' LOUISE FEIN

'They were there for each other during the war just like the lighthouse, a source of hope and protection over the years.'

1940: For sisters Alice and Jenny life is just beginning when the Nazis seize control of the island of Jersey, driving the girls down separate paths. While Alice is forced by the enemy to work in the German hospital, Jenny is attracted to the circle of islanders rising up to resist the occupiers. And as the war tightens its grip, it will cause each of the sisters to make an extraordinary choice, experience unimaginable heartbreak and emerge forever changed...

1996: The war may have ended decades earlier, but for the elegant woman sitting alone now, the images live on in her memory: her sister's carefree laughter, the inky black of a German soldier's boots, the little boats that never came back. And the one constant through it all: the lighthouse that always guided them back to the island...

A gripping, heartbreaking story of two sisters in occupied Jersey during WWII - one a nurse, who is transported to Nazi Germany, the other, who volunteers for the island's resistance movement - from the author of The Child on Platform One. Perfect for readers of The Nightingale and The Midwife of Auschwitz.
______


What real readers are saying about The Lighthouse Sisters:

'What an emotional read, I felt like I was actually living along the characters, I absolutely loved this book ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐'

'I was gripped. I couldn't put it down. Heart-wrenching at times and so full of hope and resilience at others. I really enjoyed it ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐'

'A real page-turner ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐'

'A wonderful read from the first page ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐ ⭐'



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781472279965
Publisher: Headline Book Publishing, Limited
Publication date: 02/03/2022
Sold by: Hachette Digital, Inc.
Format: eBook
Sales rank: 4,679
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Gill Thompson is an English lecturer who completed an MA in Creative Writing at Chichester University. Her novels THE OCEANS BETWEEN US and THE CHILD ON PLATFORM ONE were both digital bestsellers and have been highly acclaimed. She lives with her family in West Sussex and teaches English to college students.

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items