The Heart in Winter: A Novel

The Heart in Winter: A Novel

by Kevin Barry
The Heart in Winter: A Novel

The Heart in Winter: A Novel

by Kevin Barry

Hardcover

$28.00 
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
    Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on July 9, 2024
  • PICK UP IN STORE

    Store Pickup available after publication date.

Related collections and offers


Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Fans of Charles Portis and Patrick deWitt's The Sisters Brothers: Don't miss this wildly funny western. Fans of Barry's acclaimed novel Night Boat to Tangier, same goes for you.

Award-winning writer Kevin Barry’s first novel set in America, a savagely funny and achingly romantic tale of young lovers on the lam in 1890s Montana.

October 1891. A hard winter approaches across the Rocky Mountains. The city of Butte, Montana is rich on copper mines and rampant with vice and debauchery among a hard-living crowd of immigrant Irish workers. Here we find Tom Rourke, a young poet and ballad-maker of the town, but also a doper, a drinker, and a fearsome degenerate. Just as he feels his life is heading nowhere fast, Polly Gillespie arrives in town as the new bride of the extremely devout mine captain Long Anthony Harrington. A thunderbolt love affair takes spark between Tom and Polly and they strike out west on a stolen horse, moving through the badlands of Montana and Idaho, and briefly an idyll of wild romance perfects itself. But a posse of deranged Cornish gunmen are soon in hot pursuit and closing in fast. With everything to lose and the safety and anonymity of San Francisco still a distant speck on their horizon, the choices they make will haunt them for the rest of their lives.

In this love story for the ages—lyrical, profane and propulsive—Kevin Barry has once again demonstrated himself to be a master stylist, an unrivalled humourist, and a true poet of the human heart.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780385550598
Publisher: Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group
Publication date: 07/09/2024
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 106,599
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 7.50(h) x 0.72(d)

About the Author

KEVIN BARRY is the author of the novels Night Boat to Tangier, Beatlebone, and City of Bohane as well as three story collections including That Old Country Music. His stories and essays have appeared in the New Yorker, Granta and elsewhere. He also works as a playwright and screenwriter lives in County Sligo, Ireland.
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews