The Grace Year: A Novel

The Grace Year: A Novel

by Kim Liggett
The Grace Year: A Novel

The Grace Year: A Novel

by Kim Liggett

eBook

$9.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Though set in a dystopian world, this unputdownable thriller is a haunting exploration into the all-too-real way society sees and treats women and the complicated relationships women have amongst themselves. Readers will be mesmerized by Liggett's immersive world-building and captivated by the nonstop action. Deeply unsettling in the best way possible, The Grace Year will stay with you for years to come.

The Instant New York Times Bestseller! Kim Liggett's The Grace Year is a speculative thriller in the vein of The Handmaid’s Tale and The Power.

Survive the year.

No one speaks of the grace year. It’s forbidden.

In Garner County, girls are told they have the power to lure grown men from their beds, to drive women mad with jealousy. They believe their very skin emits a powerful aphrodisiac, the potent essence of youth, of a girl on the edge of womanhood. That’s why they’re banished for their sixteenth year, to release their magic into the wild so they can return purified and ready for marriage. But not all of them will make it home alive.

Sixteen-year-old Tierney James dreams of a better life—a society that doesn’t pit friend against friend or woman against woman, but as her own grace year draws near, she quickly realizes that it’s not just the brutal elements they must fear. It’s not even the poachers in the woods, men who are waiting for a chance to grab one of the girls in order to make a fortune on the black market. Their greatest threat may very well be each other.

With sharp prose and gritty realism, The Grace Year examines the complex and sometimes twisted relationships between girls, the women they eventually become, and the difficult decisions they make in-between.

“A visceral, darkly haunting fever dream of a novel and an absolute page-turner.” – Libba Bray, New York Times bestselling author



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250145468
Publisher: St. Martin's Publishing Group
Publication date: 10/08/2019
Sold by: Macmillan
Format: eBook
Pages: 416
Sales rank: 40,975
Lexile: HL810L (what's this?)
File size: 3 MB
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years

About the Author

Kim Liggett is the New York Times and International bestselling author of The Grace Year, a Target, Barnes&Noble, Books-a-Million Book Club Pick, along with Amazon Editor's Young Adult Book of the Year for 2019, and winner of the 2020 Nous a Libre Prize for Young Adult Literature. Published in over twenty languages and counting, The Grace Year continues to captivate readers of all ages from around the globe. Also an acclaimed horror writer, she is the author of The Last Harvest, winner of the 2018 Bram Stoker Award for Young Adult Literature, The Unfortunates, a YALSA quick pick for reluctant readers, and the Blood and Salt Duology. Originally from the rural midwest and a proud New Yorker for over twenty years, Liggett now resides in Los Angeles in a house covered with red flowers, where she happily tends to her hummingbird army.

Customer Reviews

Explore More Items