The First 21: How I Became Nikki Sixx

The First 21: How I Became Nikki Sixx

by Nikki Sixx

Audio CD

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, January 27


Rock-and-roll icon and three-time bestselling author Nikki Sixx tells his origin story: how Frank Feranna became Nikki Sixx, chronicling his fascinating journey from irrepressible Idaho farmboy to the man who formed the revolutionary rock group Mötley Crüe.

Nikki Sixx is one of the most respected, recognizable, and entrepreneurial icons in the music industry. As the founder of Mötley Crüe who is now in his twenty-first year of sobriety, Sixx is incredibly passionate about his craft and wonderfully open about his life in rock and roll, and as a person of the world. Born Franklin Carlton Feranna on December 11, 1958, young Frankie was abandoned by his father and partly raised by his mother, a woman who was ahead of her time in some ways and deeply troubled in others. Frankie ended up living with his grandparents, bouncing from farm to farm and state to state. He was an all-American kid—hunting, fishing, chasing girls, and playing football—but underneath it all, there was a burning desire for more, and that more was music. He eventually took a Greyhound bound for Hollywood.

In Los Angeles, Frank lived with his aunt and his uncle—the president of Capitol Records. But there was no short path to the top. He was soon on his own. There were dead-end jobs: dipping circuit boards, clerking at liquor and record stores, selling used light bulbs, and hustling to survive. But at night, Frank honed his craft, joining Sister, a band formed by fellow hard-rock veteran Blackie Lawless, and formed a group of his own: London, the precursor of Mötley Crüe. Turning down an offer to join Randy Rhoads’ band, Frank changed his name to Nikki London, Nikki Nine, and, finally, Nikki Sixx. Like Huck Finn with a stolen guitar, he had a vision: a group that combined punk, glam, and hard rock into the biggest, most theatrical and irresistible package the world had ever seen. With hard work, passion, and some luck, the vision manifested in reality—and this is a profound true story finding identity, of how Frank Feranna became Nikki Sixx. And it’s a road map to the ways you can overcome anything, and achieve all of your goals, if only you put your mind to it.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781668601624
Publisher: Hachette Book Group
Publication date: 10/19/2021
Sales rank: 232,145
Product dimensions: 5.83(w) x 5.67(h) x 0.63(d)

About the Author

Nikki Sixx, born Frank Feranna, grew up in Seattle and moved to Los Angeles at the age of seventeen. There, in 1981, he became the bassist for Mötley Crüe, the legendary rock band he started with his friend Tommy Lee. Today he is the bestselling author of The Heroin Diaries and This Is Gonna Hurt and a coauthor of the Mötley Crüe book The Dirt. Nikki Sixx is also a nationally syndicated radio host, solo artist, photographer, film maker, and still-loyal member of the Crüe.

Table of Contents

1 The Stadium Tour 1

2 Snake River 17

3 Just Kids 27

4 Nona and Tom 37

5 Twin Falls 55

6 Jerome 71

7 McCleary's Drugstore 83

8 Seattle 95

9 Teenage Wasteland 101

10 Diamond Dogs 107

11 Back on the Farm 115

12 Los Angeles 119

13 Eruption 127

14 London Calling 135

15 The Spotlight 143

16 Nikki Nine 151

17 Niki Syxx 159

18 Nigel 161

19 The Starwood 169

20 New Monster 181

21 Stick to Your Guns 195

Acknowledgments 203

Customer Reviews