The Firebird, 1919 Suite: Study score

The Firebird, 1919 Suite: Study score


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, December 3


Stravinsky's ballet score for The Firebird launched his career as a composer after its Paris premiere in 1910. Although he extracted an orchestral suite the following year, the large orchestra required limited performances in the concert hall. World War I, the Russian Revolution and a move to Switzerland intervened before he was able to arrange a suitable concert suite for a normal-sized orchestra, which was given its premiere by Ernest Ansermet and the newly founded Orchestre de la Suisse Romande in April of 1919. Offered here is the first definitive newly engraved publication of the concert-hall staple in the near-century since its first publication by Chester in 1920 - in a notoriously error-heavy edition. Thoroughly researched and edited by Clark McAlister and Clinton F. Nieweg, this new study score will be a most welcome addition to the libraries of conductors, music students and fans of the great Russian master's music everywhere.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781608742127
Publisher: Serenissima Music
Publication date: 09/16/2016
Pages: 98
Product dimensions: 8.27(w) x 11.02(h) x 0.20(d)

Table of Contents

1. Introduction
2. L'oiseau de feu et sa danse
3. Variation de l'oiseu de feu
4. Ronde de Princesses
5. Danse infernale du roi Katscheï
6. Berceuse
7. Final

Customer Reviews