Song of Silver, Flame Like Night (Barnes & Noble YA Book Club Edition)

Song of Silver, Flame Like Night (Barnes & Noble YA Book Club Edition)

by Amélie Wen Zhao
Song of Silver, Flame Like Night (Barnes & Noble YA Book Club Edition)

Song of Silver, Flame Like Night (Barnes & Noble YA Book Club Edition)

by Amélie Wen Zhao

Hardcover(Barnes & Noble YA Book Club Edition)

(Not eligible for purchase using B&N Audiobooks Subscription credits)
$17.99  $19.99 Save 10% Current price is $17.99, Original price is $19.99. You Save 10%.
  • SHIP THIS ITEM
    Qualifies for Free Shipping
  • PICK UP IN STORE
    Check Availability at Nearby Stores

Related collections and offers


Read all about the Best Mythology Retellings on our blog, B&N Reads.

Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Amelie Wen Zhao’s sophomore series begins with Song of Silver, Flame Like Night, a thrilling fantasy inspired by ancient Chinese folklore. Fans of Six Crimson Cranes won’t want to miss this pulse-pounding tale of dangerous magic and dark secrets.

This Barnes & Noble YA Book Club Edition features a unique jacket with special effects and color endpapers.

In a fallen kingdom, one girl carries the key to discovering the secrets of her nation's past—and unleashing the demons that sleep at its heart. An epic fantasy series inspired by the mythology and folklore of ancient China.

"Perfect for fans of The Untamed. I loved it!” —Shelley Parker-Chan, bestselling author of She Who Became the Sun


Once, Lan had a different name. Now she goes by the one the Elantian colonizers gave her when they invaded her kingdom, killed her mother, and outlawed her people’s magic. She spends her nights as a songgirl in Haak’gong, a city transformed by the conquerors, and her days scavenging for what she can find of the past. Anything to understand the strange mark burned into her arm by her mother in her last act before she died.

The mark is mysterious—an untranslatable Hin character—and no one but Lan can see it. Until the night a boy appears at her teahouse and saves her life.

Zen is a practitioner—one of the fabled magicians of the Last Kingdom. Their magic was rumored to have been drawn from the demons they communed with. Magic believed to be long lost. Now it must be hidden from the Elantians at all costs.

When Zen comes across Lan, he recognizes what she is: a practitioner with a powerful ability hidden in the mark on her arm. He’s never seen anything like it—but he knows that if there are answers, they lie deep in the pine forests and misty mountains of the Last Kingdom, with an order of practitioning masters planning to overthrow the Elantian regime.

Both Lan and Zen have secrets buried deep within—secrets they must hide from others, and secrets that they themselves have yet to discover. Fate has connected them, but their destiny remains unwritten. Both hold the power to liberate their land. And both hold the power to destroy the world.

Now the battle for the Last Kingdom begins.


Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780593705797
Publisher: Random House Children's Books
Publication date: 01/03/2023
Series: Song of the Last Kingdom , #1
Edition description: Barnes & Noble YA Book Club Edition
Pages: 480
Sales rank: 1,968
Product dimensions: 5.60(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.70(d)
Age Range: 14 - 17 Years
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews