Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Solo Monk

Solo Monk

by Thelonious Monk Thelonious Monk
Solo Monk

Solo Monk

by Thelonious Monk Thelonious Monk


$4.99 $6.99 Save 29% Current price is $4.99, Original price is $6.99. You Save 29%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, February 13


The mystery and haunting angular beauty of Thelonious Monk's unadorned keyboard sides are the focus of Solo Monk. As if holding the history of jazz in his hands, Monk's solo recordings and performances from every phase of his career remain pure. The components of what made Monk such an uncompromising composer, arranger, and especially bandmember are evident in every note he plays. The disc includes both Monk originals as well as several covers of pop music standards. A majority of these sides were cut during a West Coast swing in late October and early November 1964. This highly productive jaunt would likewise yield two live releases: Live at the It Club and Live at the Jazz Workshop; both would feature Monk's quartet. On an emotional level, however, these sides arguably surpass many of the band recordings. "Sweet and Lovely" contains several passages that are played with the command and intensity usually demanded of a classical work. The intense yet sophisticated chord progressions that punctuate "Ruby, My Dear" transform what once were simple pop melodies into unaccompanied rhapsodies. Monk transforms the solitude of "Everything Happens to Me" into a minor bop masterpiece replete with his signature disjointed phrasings and variable pacing. Parties interested in a more complete retrospective of Thelonious Monk's '60s solo recordings should also check out Monk Alone: The Complete Columbia Solo Piano Recordings 1962-1968.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 08/19/2003
Label: Sbme Special Mkts.
UPC: 0886977051821
catalogNumber: 770518
Rank: 5222


  1. Dinah
  2. I Surrender, Dear
  3. Sweet and Lovely
  4. North of the Sunset
  5. Ruby, My Dear
  6. I'm Confessin' (That I Love You)
  7. I Hadn't Anyone Till You
  8. Everything Happens to Me
  9. Monk's Point
  10. I Should Care
  11. Ask Me Now
  12. These Foolish Things (Remind Me of You)
  13. Introspection
  14. Darn That Dream
  15. Dinah
  16. Sweet and Lovely
  17. Ruby, My Dear
  18. I'm Confessin' (That I Love You)
  19. I Hadn't Anyone Till You
  20. Everything Happens to Me
  21. Ask Me Now

Album Credits

Customer Reviews