Pub. Date:


by Monty PythonMonty Python


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, October 28


Monty Python Sings is exactly what it sounds like: a parade of songs (many under a minute) written and performed by members of Monty Python's Flying Circus. The numbers should be instantly familiar to fans of their legendary sketch comedy series and theatrical features. Each member of the troupe is represented to some degree or another, including director/animator Terry Gilliam with the tiny tune "I've Got Two Legs" (:33), and several co-written by Graham Chapman (to whom the original 1989 issue of the compilation was dedicated). John Cleese, Terry Jones, and Michael Palin contributed to several compositions, but the lion's share were written/co-written by the most musically inclined member, Eric Idle. Neil Innes (the Bonzo Dog Band), with whom Idle collaborated on the Beatles spoof The Rutles, assisted with arranging and composed the music for "Knights of the Round Table." It's debatable whether those not already enamored by the Pythons' unique brand of humor would be won over by this recording. For the already converted, however, it represents an opportunity to have all of their best known songs in one place: Life of Brian's "Always Look on the Bright Side of Life" ("when you're chewing on life's gristle/don't grumble, give a whistle"), "Lumberjack Song" (I'm a lumberjack/and I'm O.K./I sleep all night/and I work all day"), and, of course, "Spam Song" ("lovely Spam/wonderful Spa-a-m"). For better or for worse, many of their most politically incorrect songs are also included: "Sit on My Face," "Penis Song (Not the Noel Coward Song)," "Never Be Rude to an Arab," and "I Like Chinese." Although packed to the brim with (lyrical) comedy, Monty Python Sings is strictly a musical recording and does not include any sketches, spoken word pieces, or narration.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 07/15/2014
Label: Imports
UPC: 0602537835270
catalogNumber: 7835270
Rank: 102920


  1. Always Look On The Bright Side Of Life
  2. The Meaning Of Life
  3. The Silly Walk Song
  4. The Penis Song (Not The Cruel Coward Song)
  5. Money Song
  6. Oliver Cromwell
  7. Accountancy Shanty
  8. Finland
  9. Medical Love Song
  10. I'm So Worried
  11. Every Sperm Is Sacred
  12. I Like Chinese
  13. The Naval Medley
  14. Sit On My Face
  15. Never Be Rude To An Arab
  16. Eric The Half Bee
  17. Brian Song
  18. Rudyard Kipling
  19. Nudge Rap/Blackmail
  20. Bruce's Philosphers Song
  21. Knights Of The Round Table
  22. All Things Dull & Ugly
  23. Decomposing Composers
  24. Henry Kissinger
  25. I've Got Two Legs
  26. Rainy Day In Berlin
  27. Christmas In Heaven
  28. Galaxy Song
  29. Spam
  30. Lousy Song
  31. Lumberjack Song

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Monty Python   Primary Artist

Technical Credits

Monty Python   Composer
Neil Innes   Arranger,Composer
Michael Palin   Composer
John Altman   Arranger
Graham Chapman   Composer
Frédéric Chopin   Composer
John Cleese   Composer
John Du Prez   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Terry Gilliam   Composer,Artwork,Cover Art
Eric Idle   Composer,Producer
Terry Jones   Composer,Layout
Mike McNaught   Arranger
Andre Jacquemin   Composer,Producer,Engineer
Fred Tomlinson   Arranger,Composer
John Gould   Composer
Harry Parr-Davies   Composer
Darren Evans   Artwork
Robert Ross   Liner Notes
Sonia Jones   Musical Backing
David Howman   Composer
Jamie-Lisa Jacquemin   Musical Backing
Ric Lipson   Layout

Customer Reviews