Rei Momo

Rei Momo

by David ByrneDavid Byrne


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, May 19


On his first full-fledged solo album, Byrne indulges his fascination with Latin and South American musical styles, employing a variety of native musicians but mixing up the sounds to suit his own distinctly non-purist vision and singing over the tracks the same kind of witty, oddball lyrics found on Talking Heads albums. (When released, the cassette version contained three more tracks than the LP.)

Product Details

Release Date: 09/25/1989
Label: Sire / London/Rhino
UPC: 0075992599023
catalogNumber: 25990
Rank: 46617


  1. Independence Day
  2. Make Believe Mambo
  3. The Call of the Wild
  4. Dirty Old Town
  5. The Rose Tattoo
  6. Loco de Amor
  7. The Dream Police
  8. Don't Want to Be a Part of Your World
  9. Marching Through the Wilderness
  10. Good and Evil
  11. Lie to Me
  12. Office Cowboy
  13. Women Vs. Men
  14. Carnival Eyes
  15. I Know Sometimes a Man Is Wrong

Album Credits

Performance Credits

David Byrne   Primary Artist,Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Background Vocals
Willie Colón   Choir, Chorus
Johnny Pacheco   Conga,Choir, Chorus
Kirsty MacColl   Background Vocals
Tom "Bones" Malone   Tenor Trombone
Charlie Sepulveda   Trumpet
Yomo Toro   cuatro
David Taylor   Bass Trombone
Eric Weissberg   Mandolin,Pedal Steel Guitar
Arto Lindsay   Vocals
Milton Cardona   Conga,Background Vocals,Choir, Chorus,Claves,Bata,Iya,Quinto,Shekere,Tambor
Luis Manuel   Guira
Celia Cruz   Vocals
Robby Ameen   Drums
Cyro Baptista   Tambourine,Caxixi,Agogo
Sam Burtis   Tenor Trombone
Floyd Carter   Violin
Jorge Jose Da Silva   Tambourine,Repique
James Fearnley   Accordion
Lawrence Feldman   Tenor Saxophone
Reinaldo Fernandes   Repique,Tamborim
Angel Fernandez   Trumpet,Woodwind
Mitch Frohman   Tenor Saxophone
Andy González   Bass,Contrabass (Vocal)
Steve Guttman   Trumpet
Kenneth Hitchcock   Alto Saxophone
Ite Jerez   Trumpet
Lewis Kahn   Trombone,Violin,Bass Trombone
Romero Lubambo   Electric Guitar
Shunzo Ohno   Trumpet
Keith O'Quinn   Tenor Trombone
Enrique Orengo   Cello
Paquito Pastor   Piano,fender rhodes
Lucy Penabaz   Background Vocals
Bobby Porcelli   Alto Saxophone
Barry Rogers   Tenor Trombone
David Sacks   Tenor Trombone
Steve Sacks   Baritone Saxophone
Charlie Santiago   Timbales
Mauricio Smith   Flute
Dale Turk   Bass Trombone
Herbert Vianna   Vocals
Joe Shepley   Trumpet
Cuto Soto   Choir, Chorus
Jose Mangual   Bongos,Conga,Choir, Chorus,Bells,Bata,Guira,Guiro,Guichero
Felix Farrar   Violin
Elvis Garcia   Bass
Leini Guerrero   Piano
Barry Olsen   Tenor Trombone
Luchinho Bazadao   Cavaquinho
Lucinho Bizadao   Cavaquinho
Joe de Jesus   Tenor Trombone
Santiago Pasqual   Guira
Marc Quifiones   Timbales,Bata
Huti Rodriquez   Tamboura
Rubén Rodríguez   Bass
Luis Arias   Conga
Juan Martinez   Drums
José Gallegos   Keyboards
Agusto Onna   Trumpet,Choir, Chorus
Agapito Pasqual   Accordion
Acua Turree Ensemble   Strings
Oscar Peña   Alto Saxophone
Jose Gallegos   Keyboards

Technical Credits

David Byrne   Producer,String Arrangements
Milton Cardona   Contributor
Luis Manuel   Contributor
Marty Sheller   String Arrangements,Brass Arrangment
Jon Fausty   Engineer
Angel Fernandez   Brass Arrangment
Steve Lillywhite   Producer
Paquito Pastor   String Arrangements
Steve Sacks   Brass Arrangment
Charlie Santiago   Contributor
Jose Mangual   Contributor
Santiago Pasqual   Contributor

Customer Reviews