ISBN-10:
1469931451
ISBN-13:
9781469931456
Pub. Date:
Publisher:
Paxton at Bosworth Field

Paxton at Bosworth Field

by Stanley Lombardo

Paperback

$17.95
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, September 23

Overview

In the tradition of Mark Twain's A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court and Edgar Rice Burroughs' Mars novels, medievalist Stanley Lombardo's Paxton at Bosworth Field delivers a tale of high adventure and romance across Space and Time.

Pursued by an Apache war party, Carter Paxton rides through a medicine cave in Arizona and emerges in medieval England. His survival tools include not only his Sharps buffalo rifle and a pair of Colt revolvers, but - more importantly -- three books that will change the course of history.

Upon arriving, Paxton rescues a lone hunter and learns that he is none other than Richard III, who in no way resembles Shakespeare's hunchbacked monster. Beset by enemies, Richard welcomes the aid of this mysterious stranger -- while the King's niece, the beautiful Lady Joanna, welcomes her handsome new suitor. When Joanna discovers the copy of Shakespeare's plays that Paxton has brought with him, he reveals to her his past and his determination to help Richard win the crucial Battle of Bosworth Field.

With Bosworth mere months away, and limited to the materials and techniques of the time, Paxton and Joanna strive to bring nineteenth-century technology to the fifteenth century. Assisting their efforts are Master Printer William Caxton, former soldier of fortune Brother Tranquillus, and scholarly warrior Anthony, Earl Rivers. But will their help be sufficient -- and timely enough - as the insidious and arrogant Bishop Morton, Duke of Buckingham, and Lord Stanley plot to bring the rapacious Pretender Henry Tudor to the throne?

With the discovery of King Richard III's remains, modern defenders of the White Boar are rallying to PAXTON AT BOSWORTH FIELD as a glorious glimpse of what might have been if Fate had been kind and brought the right kind ot help to Richard in his time of need.


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781469931456
Publisher: CreateSpace Publishing
Publication date: 03/29/2012
Pages: 368
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.76(d)

About the Author

Stanley Lombardo comes from a long line of natural storytellers: his paternal grandfather was the village poet of Petra Prezzia, Sicily. Born in Buffalo, NY, the author holds a BA in English from SUNY Buffalo and a Ph.D. in Medieval Studies from Indiana University. Between times, Lombardo did a hitch in the U.S. Navy. He has written novels, short stories, poetry, and technical manuals, but his true love is screenplays. Lombardo teaches at the university level, where his specialties include film, screenwriting, Chaucer, and Shakespeare. Lombardo is single, with a five-year-old son who gives every indication of carrying on the family tradition of storytelling. In his infrequent spare time, the author makes swords, armor, and arrows as well as various other artifacts.

PAXTON AT BOSWORTH FIELD appears on literary agent Anton Diether's Hot List of Top 10 Western screenplays.

Customer Reviews