The Murder of Delicia

The Murder of Delicia


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 20


Originally published in 1896, The Murder of Delicia centers a wealthy woman whose husband’s infidelity and self-indulgence leads her to an unexpected yet fateful end. The woman is forced to face the harsh and cruel reality of her marriage.

Delicia Vaughn is a successful writer married to a former solider called Wilfred Carlyon. Despite her unwavering devotion, Carlyon often treats his wife with contempt. He spends her money on gambling, parties and other women, most notably a local dancer. When Delicia discovers her husband’s latest purchase for his mistress, she’s completely heartbroken. The truth of his affairs and public humiliation causes her physical and emotional strain. The couple finally separates and Delicia decides to focus on her work. Yet, the damage has been done and has fatal consequences.

The Murder of Delicia is the emotional tale of a long-suffering wife trapped by her own delusions. When reality sets in she’s forced to reckon with the ugly truth. It’s a heart-wrenching story that stays with the reader long after its dramatic conclusion.

With an eye-catching new cover, and professionally typeset manuscript, this edition of The Murder of Delicia is both modern and readable.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781513277790
Publisher: West Margin Press
Publication date: 03/09/2021
Series: Mint Editions Series
Pages: 136
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 8.00(h) x 0.30(d)

About the Author

Marie Corelli (1855–1924), born Mary Mackay, was a British writer from London, England. Educated at a Parisian convent, she later worked as a pianist before embarking on a literary career. Her first novel, A Romance of Two Worlds was published in 1886 and surpassed all expectations. Corelli quickly became one of the most popular fiction writers of her time. Her books featured contrasting themes rooted in religion, science and the supernatural. Some of Corelli’s other notable works include Barabbas: A Dream of the World’s Tragedy (1893) and The Sorrows of Satan (1895).

Customer Reviews