Micah Clarke

Micah Clarke

by Arthur Conan Doyle


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 13


Although Arthur Conan Doyle is best known for his stories about the detective Sherlock Holmes, he was a prolific writer whose other works include science fiction stories, historical novels, plays, romances, poetry, and non-fiction. Micah Clarke is an historical adventure novel set during the Mommouth Rebellion of 1685 in England. The story follows the adventures of the hero Micah Clarke. In the process the book also records much of the history of the Monmouth Rebellion, but from the point of view of someone living in 17th century England. Several historical figures appear in the book including: James II, James Scott, Archibard Campbell, John Churchill, and others.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9798686817074
Publisher: Independently published
Publication date: 01/28/2021
Pages: 392
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.00(h) x 0.81(d)

About the Author

Arthur Conan Doyle was a prolific writer born in Scotland who started out as a medical doctor. While at the University of Edinburgh, he augmented his income by writing stories. His first Sherlock Holmes tale was published in 1887, introducing one of literature's best-loved detectives. Doyle has also written many works of history and science fiction, plus plays and poetry.

Date of Birth:

May 22, 1859

Date of Death:

July 7, 1930

Place of Birth:

Edinburgh, Scotland

Place of Death:

Crowborough, Sussex, England


Edinburgh University, B.M., 1881; M.D., 1885

Table of Contents

I. Of Cornet Joseph Clarke of the Ironsides
II. Of My Going to School and of My Coming Thence
III. Of Two Friends of My Youth
IV. Of the Strange Fish that we Caught at Spithead
V. Of the Man with the Drooping Lids
VI. Of the Letter that Came from the Lowlands
VII. Of the Horseman who Rode from the West
VIII. Of our Start for the Wars
IX. Of a Passage of Arms at the Blue Boar
X. Of our Perilous Adventure on the Plain
XI. Of the Lonely Man and the Gold Chest
XII. Of certain Passages upon the Moor
XIII. Of Sir Gervas Jerome, Knight Banneret of the County of Surrey
XIV. Of the Stiff-legged Parson and his Flock
XV. Of our Brush with the King’s Dragoons
XVI. Of our Coming to Taunton
XVII. Of the Gathering in the Market-Square
XVIII. Of Master Stephen Timewell, Mayor of Taunton
XIX. Of a Brawl in the Night
XX. Of the Muster of the Men of the West
XXI. Of my Hand-grips with the Brandenburger
XXII. Of the News from Havant
XXIII. Of the Snare on the Weston Road
XXIV. Of the Welcome that Met Me at Badminton
XXV. Of Strange Doings in the Boteler Dungeon
XXVI. Of the Strife in the Council
XXVII. Of the Affair near Keynsham Bridge
XXVIII. Of the Fight in Wells Cathedral
XXIX. Of the Great Cry from the Lonely House
XXX. Of the Swordsman with the Brown Jacket
XXXI. Of the Maid of the Marsh and the Bubble which Rose from the Bog
XXXII. Of the Onfall at Sedgemoor
XXXIII. Of my Perilous Adventure at the Mill
XXXIV. Of the Coming of Solomon Sprent
XXXV. Of the Devil in Wig and Gown
XXXVI. Of the End of it All

Customer Reviews