Keep a Hold on Him! More Garpax Girls

Keep a Hold on Him! More Garpax Girls


$13.66 $13.99 Save 2% Current price is $13.66, Original price is $13.99. You Save 2%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, May 11


Ace's 2015 compilation Keep a Hold on Him! More Garpax Girls opens with the Idols mimicking the Ikettes on the dynamic "Just a Little Bit More," a hell of an opening salvo for this decade-delayed sequel to the label's Boy Trouble: Garpax Girls. Like that 2004 collection, Keep a Hold on Him! rounds up a bunch of rarities -- nearly half of the 24 tracks see their first release here -- from the vaults of Garpax, a label run by Gary Paxton, but where that volume focused on swinging mid-'60s sides, this concentrates on R&B-leaning records of 1963 and 1964. Music that sounds a lot like the Idols, in other words, but in addition to soulful girl groups there are grand, cinematic productions for the likes of Doris Webb and productions that lie somewhere between, such as the nifty propulsion of Linda Mackey's "It Just Ain't Right." Paxton's studio flair is often one of the primary attractions on this collection -- the addition of a banjo gives "He's Not Mine Anymore" a lift of oddness, he doesn't overplay the corny trash of Judy & the Jades' "Yosemite Sam" -- and this imagination, along with the sweet sincerity of the singing, keeps the compilation grooving even when the songs themselves aren't especially distinguished.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/02/2015
Label: Imports
UPC: 0029667072120
catalogNumber: 5017935
Rank: 75507


  1. Just a Little Bit More
  2. Losing Control
  3. Keep a Hold On Him
  4. It Feels So Good
  5. I Was the Lonely One
  6. Daydreamin' Of You
  7. Little Girl With a Big Hurt
  8. It Just Ain’t Right
  9. He's Not Mine Anymore
  10. You Know You Lied
  11. It Kinda Picks Me Up
  12. Only Love
  13. A Tear
  14. Operator Operator
  15. Merry Go Round
  16. Yosemite Sam
  17. Shoes and Rice and Paradise
  18. I Won’t Be Hurt Anymore
  19. It’s A Lonely World
  20. Help Me
  21. Reap What You Sow
  22. Please Write Me a Letter
  23. Why Must I Cry
  24. He’s Hurtin' Me

Album Credits

Technical Credits

Jerry Riopelle   Composer
Richard Berry   Arranger,Composer
Kim Fowley   Arranger,Producer
Chuck Girard   Composer
Don Hinson   Composer
Dale Davis   Producer
Jackie DeShannon   Composer
Gary S. "Flip" Paxton   Arranger,Composer,Producer
William Powell   Composer
Sharon Sheeley   Composer
Mark Shelby   Composer
Kenny Johnson   Composer
Grant Taylor   Composer
Dave York   Arranger,Composer,Producer
Carl Walden   Composer
Linda Mackey   Composer
George Motola   Arranger,Producer
Don Pearce   Composer
Gregory Van Krugel   Composer
Janice Paxton   Composer
Frank McKelvey   Producer
Dave Kaddison   Composer
Clevell Nichols   Composer
Bob Montgomery   Composer
Paul Nuckles   Composer
Mavis McAullay   Composer

Customer Reviews