Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
It All Comes Down to This: A Novel

It All Comes Down to This: A Novel

by Therese Anne Fowler

Narrated by Barrie Kreinik

Unabridged — 11 hours, 37 minutes

Therese Anne Fowler
It All Comes Down to This: A Novel

It All Comes Down to This: A Novel

by Therese Anne Fowler

Narrated by Barrie Kreinik

Unabridged — 11 hours, 37 minutes

Therese Anne Fowler

Audiobook (Digital)

$26.99
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription| Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $26.99

Overview

Therese Anne Fowler's It All Comes Down to This is a warm, keenly perceptive novel of sisterhood, heartbreak, home, and what it takes to remake a life at its halfway point, for fans of Ann Patchett and Emma Straub.

Meet the Geller sisters: Beck, Claire, and Sophie, a trio of strong-minded women whose pragmatic, widowed mother, Marti, will be dying soon and taking her secrets with her. Marti has ensured that her modest estate is easy for her family to deal with once she's gone--including a provision that the family's summer cottage on Mount Desert Island, Maine, must be sold, the proceeds split equally between the three girls.

Beck, the eldest, is a freelance journalist whose marriage looks more like a sibling bond than a passionate partnership. In fact, her husband Paul is hiding a troubling truth about his love life. For Beck, the Maine cottage has been essential to her secret wish to write a novel--and to remake the terms of her relationship.

Despite her accomplishments as a pediatric cardiologist, Claire, the middle daughter, has always felt like the Geller misfit. Recently divorced, Claire's secret unrequited love for the wrong man is slowly destroying her, and she's finding that her expertise on matters of the heart unfortunately doesn't extend to her own.

Youngest daughter Sophie appears to live an Instagram-ready life, filled with glamorous work and travel, celebrities, fashion, art, and sex. In reality, her existence is a cash-strapped house of cards that may crash at any moment.

Enter C.J. Reynolds, an enigmatic southerner ex-con with his own hidden past, who complicates the situation. All is not what it seems, and everything is about to change.

A Macmillan Audio production from St. Martin's Press.



Related collections and offers

Editorial Reviews

Publishers Weekly

04/25/2022

Fowler (The Good Neighborhood) returns with a smooth Austenesque tale of midlife reckoning. Matriarch Marti Geller, faced with terminal cancer, worries about her daughters. “That is what wills are for,” Fowler writes, “to pull the strings you weren’t able to... in life.” The oldest, Beck, a freelance writer, is stuck in a sexless marriage. Claire, a cardiologist, is recently divorced and pining for a man she shouldn’t be. Sophie, an art curator, is Instagram famous, but drowning in debt. Upon Marti’s death, the girls are left with instructions to gather one last time at the family summer home off the coast of Maine before selling it and splitting the proceeds. In chapters from alternating points of view, Fowler skillfully captures each woman’s contemporary narrative and backstory without losing the thread of time and place even as the book hopscotches through flashbacks and locales ranging from Mount Desert Island to Duluth and Dubai. At times she relies on too convenient coincidences to move the plot and the random insertions of an omniscient narrator to explain things, but the well-developed character studies keep the reader chugging along until the satisfying conclusion. Neither too complex nor too light, this goes down as easily as an Aperol spritz. (June)

From the Publisher

"Can you say perfect porch read?" —CNN.com

"Fowler has done it again." GMA.com

"A tightly coiled family saga…Fowler expertly peels back the layers of each character in this page-turner, making for a highly entertaining summer read."Booklist

"Austenesque...this goes down as easily as an Aperol spritz." Publishers Weekly

"A smart and lively novel, one that had me turning its pages faster and faster, wondering if this indelible family could really untangle the deep lies that reveal an even deeper truth." —Jess Walter, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Beautiful Ruins

"A big-hearted novel about middle-aged women reckoning with their own heavy secrets, and each other. This novel is entertaining, in the best sense of the word, and a true page-turner." —Ann Napolitano, New York Times bestselling author of Dear Edward

Library Journal

★ 07/02/2022

Fowler, the author of well-received family and historical dramas like A Good Neighborhood and A Well-Behaved Woman: A Novel of the Vanderbilts, veers light in this sparkling, summery contemporary story, A dying woman with a secret past, Marti Geller leaves behind three successful adult daughters: freelance journalist Beck, who longs to write a novel; pediatric cardiologist Claire, who pines for the wrong man; and Sophie, whose Instagram-ready life looks better online than in reality. Marti dispenses maternal advice to "take more taxis," and her revelatory bombshell of a will requires Beck, Claire, and Sophie to sell the family's summer house in Mount Desert, Maine, and split the proceeds. This forces Marti's rivalrous daughters into a closeness that each had previously only shared with their mother. Together, the sisters must eventually reveal and confront their own scandalous secrets. VERDICT All you could want in a beach read: three sisters with secrets; a summer house in Maine to be sold off (or not); a sexy stranger from out of town who's looking to buy; and no problem that can't be satisfyingly resolved before the story ends.—Laurie Cavanaugh

Kirkus Reviews

2022-03-10
Love, lies, and long-buried secrets surface as a favored family summer home in Maine is put up for sale.

The title is something of a giveaway in Fowler’s latest, a story of problems endured over many years, sometimes at significant personal cost, but, once aired and shared, reaching self-evident solutions. Sisters Beck, Claire, and Sophie Geller, with their contrasting careers and lifestyles, must come together after the loss of their mother, Marti, whose will requires them to sell the beloved summer cottage they have inherited, a remote house on Mount Desert Island. Sophie, who works in Manhattan’s art world but whose life has suddenly upended, needs the money the sale would bring. Claire, a doctor whose marriage has failed, could use the cash, too, but welcomes the distraction from unrequited love that the house brings. Beck, a journalist married to book editor Paul, wants to keep the house as a place in which to write the novel she’s longed to complete. Doing so would also liberate her from her kind but sexless marriage. Paul, meanwhile, has a secret—he yearns for Claire, and Claire (unbeknownst to Paul) yearns back. Marti kept secrets, too, and Beck has lied to Paul, both for financial and sexual reasons. She’s recently spent an amazing night with C.J. Reynolds, a figure from her past who has his own problematic backstory. Backstories indeed fill many pages in this exposition-heavy, distinctly soapy story, which devotes most of its attention to elaborating the problems set up to be unraveled. Fowler presents the family members in great detail; less so in the case of the perfunctory C.J., though he too will reach a happy resolution. So, this is what it all comes down to—a tying up of much-dangled loose ends.

Romantic and other dilemmas reach flagged-up conclusions in a novel whose destination is gratification.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940176473520
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Publication date: 06/07/2022
Edition description: Unabridged

Customer Reviews