In Love With These Times: My Life With Flying Nun Records

In Love With These Times: My Life With Flying Nun Records

by Roger Shepherd


View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, July 29


Roger Shepherd was working in a Christchurch record shop when he realised the local bands he loved needed someone to make their records. Flying Nun was born. Those records and the bands that created them - The Chills, The Clean, Chris Knox and Tall Dwarfs, The Verlaines, Sneaky Feelings, The Bats, Straitjacket Fits and many more - went on to define an era and create what became known as 'the Dunedin Sound'. In truth it was less a unified sound than a spirit of adventure and independence that characterised the Flying Nun ethos. In this long-awaited memoir, label founder Roger Shepherd describes the idealism and passion that drove the project in the first place, the hard realities of the music industry and the constant tension between art and commerce. Filled with revealing anecdote and insight, this is the definitive insider history of what the UK's Guardian newspaper called 'surely the label with the highest quality output per capita in pop history.'

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781775540892
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 06/06/2017
Pages: 304
Product dimensions: 6.00(w) x 9.10(h) x 1.10(d)

About the Author

Roger Shepherd is the founder of Flying Nun Records, which he owned and managed throughout the 1980s and 90s, and with which he is still associated. He helped discover and nurture the careers of many of the country's best known alternative bands, including the Clean, the Chills, the Tall Dwarfs and the Headless Chickens. He lives in Wellington with his wife and children.

Table of Contents

Introduction 1

1 1981 5

2 Aranui 14

3 The Record Factory 25

4 Saved by Punk 32

5 Chris Knox 46

6 The Clean 56

7 Four-track 71

8 Dunedin 78

9 Great Sounds Great 98

10 Totally Wired 103

11 After The Clean 113

12 Commercial Reality 131

13 Out of the Doledrums 145

14 The Square is Not Square 163

15 Goodbye Christchurch 176

16 Hello Auckland 193

17 Mushroom Cloud over Nun 209

18 Heavenly Pop Hit 220

19 Up and Down in London 233

20 All or Nothing 257

21 The End, and New Beginnings 266

Epilogue 276

Acknowledgments 283

Index 287

Customer Reviews