Ice, Iron and Gold

Ice, Iron and Gold

by S. M. Stirling

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 6 days


Egyptian chariots carry shotgunners and haul heavy cannon into battle, Roman centurions fight at the whims of bug-eyed monsters, vigilant National Guardsmen hold the line against cannibalistic illegal aliens, and American soldiers wander savage lands, leading a massive AI -controlled BOLO tank, as they struggle to return home to a United States that no longer exists.

Through themes of duty, honor, and fortitude under fire, New York Times best-selling author S. M. Stirling presents thirteen stories of military men and women pushed to the point where myth and technology collide. Showcasing Stirling’s trademark military action, jargon-heavy dialogue, and conflictdriven storytelling, these thrilling tales of alternate histories, apocalyptic futures, and hard-driving military Science Fiction demonstrate why Stirling has long been a fan favorite.

Ice, Iron, and Gold, the first short fiction collection by S. M. Stirling, features “Something for Yew,” an original novella set in Stirling’s Emberverse (Dies the Fire) and “Riding Shotgun to Armageddon,” a short story set within the universe of his Nantucket series (Island in the Sea of Time). An essential collection for Stirling fans and a perfect introduction for new readers, Ice, Iron and Gold gathers together evocative and insightful tales certain to thrill, shock, and astound.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781597801164
Publisher: Night Shade
Publication date: 10/01/2008
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 288
Sales rank: 1,112,711
Product dimensions: 4.10(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.30(d)

About the Author

S. M. Stirling is a French-born Canadian-American science fiction and fantasy author. He is probably best known for the Novels of the Change, which include The Golden Princess, The Given Sacrifice, and Lord of Mountains. He also wrote the Shadowspawn series, which consists of A Taint in the Blood, The Council of Shadows, and Shadows of Falling Night. In the past, he has frequently collaborated with other authors, including David Drake and Anne McCaffrey. A former lawyer and an amateur historian, he lives in the Southwest with his wife, Jan.

Customer Reviews