Free Shipping on Orders of $40 or More
Hook, Line & Sinker

Hook, Line & Sinker

by Roomful of Blues Roomful of Blues
Hook, Line & Sinker

Hook, Line & Sinker

by Roomful of Blues Roomful of Blues


$13.29 $18.99 Save 30% Current price is $13.29, Original price is $18.99. You Save 30%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, August 16


Roomful of Blues have been playing their blistering take on the jump blues for over 35 years and through numerous personnel changes. Only saxman Rich Lataille is left from the band's best-known lineup, and even he joined after Roomful of Blues had been playing beer joints for three years, but their sound still remains as rough and tough as ever and that's a good thing indeed. On Hook, Line & Sinker they're doing what they've always done, and as the provocative album cover suggests, they remain capable of delivering a platter full of sly, sexy stompers. There aren't any originals this time around; instead they trot out a bunch of juke joint classics and infuse them with their own special brand of soulful grit. Chris Vachon's slinky guitar pulls you into the opener, "That's a Pretty Good Love," a tune made popular by Big Maybelle. Vachon's long, serpentine solo complements the song's smoldering message. Vocalist Phil Pemberton shines on "Kill Me," with a soulful, growling vocal worthy of the Don & Dewey original, while he shows off his tender side on Floyd Dixon's "Time Brings About a Change," which features an intricate late-night piano solo by Travis Colby. But like all good Roomful albums, it's the uptempo numbers that really make you want to hit the replay button. Vachon lets loose on the smokin' instrumental "Gate Walks to Board," then steps aside to let Lataille, Mark Earley, and trumpeter Doug Woolverton trade wailing solos. They play the bouncy title track, a tune by Dave Bartholomew/Pearl King that Smiley Lewis had a hit on, with the pedal to the metal. Gatemoth Brown's "She Walks Right In" gets the full jump blues treatment, with John Turner's acoustic bass pushing the band into overdrive and the horn section wailing like a chorus of desperate drunks at closing time on Saturday night.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 01/18/2011
Label: Alligator Records
UPC: 0014551494126
catalogNumber: 4941
Rank: 46102


  1. That's a Pretty Good Love
  2. She Walks Right In
  3. Hook, Line and Sinker
  4. Kill Me
  5. Gate Walks To Board
  6. Juice, Juice, Juice
  7. Ain't Nothin' Happenin'
  8. Win With Me, Baby
  9. It
  10. Come On Home
  11. Time Brings About a Change
  12. Just a Little Love

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Roomful of Blues   Primary Artist
Rich Lataille   Alto Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Chris Vachon   Guitar
Mark Earley   Baritone Saxophone,Tenor Saxophone
Travis Colby   Piano,Hammond B3
John Turner   Upright Bass
Ephraim Lowell   Drums
Doug Woolverton   Trumpet
Phil Pemberton   Vocals

Technical Credits

Floyd Dixon   Composer
Earl King   Composer
Amos Milburn   Composer
Jerry Leiber   Composer
Dewey Terry   Composer
Howard Biggs   Composer
Johnny Board   Composer
Clarence "Gatemouth" Brown   Composer
Don Robey   Composer
Mike Stoller   Composer
Chris Vachon   Producer
Landon Messer   Composer
Michael Trossman   Logo
Rose Marie McCoy   Composer
Jon D'Uva   Engineer
Charles Singleton   Composer
Edward Messner   Composer
Dave Bortholomew   Composer
Bryant Lucas   Composer
James Flemings   Composer
Fred Mendelsonn   Composer

Customer Reviews