ISBN-10:
0063213656
ISBN-13:
9780063213654
Pub. Date:
Publisher:
Her Heart for a Compass (Signed B&N Exclusive Book)

Her Heart for a Compass (Signed B&N Exclusive Book)

by Sarah Ferguson

Hardcover(Signed Edition)

$28.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, September 29

Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Fans of Victoria and Belgravia: We have a novel you won't want to miss. Sarah Ferguson (yes, that Sarah Ferguason, famously rebellious modern royal and producer on Julian Fellow's film The Young Victoria) teams up with Scottish novelist Marguerite Kaye to deliver a page-turner about duty, love and one woman's desire for independence in a society that wants no such thing for her. This bold and thoughtful coming-of-age story includes plenty of incredible detail about Victorian England straight from the royal archives at Windsor.

This signed Barnes & Noble Exclusive Edition includes the back story of Lady Margaret Scott, the real ancestor of Sarah Ferguson, Duchess of York who is featured in the novel, along with Lady Margaret's photograph.

From one of the most famous former members of the British royal family, Sarah Ferguson, Duchess of York —a mesmerizing novel of a young noblewoman’s coming-of-age that richly details both high society and low in Victorian England.

Queen Victoria’s close friend, the Scottish Duke of Buccleuch, Lady Margaret Montagu Scott is expected to make an advantageous marriage. But Margaret is an impulsive and outspoken girl in a repressive society where women are, quite literally, caged in corsets and required to conform.


When Lady Margaret’s parents arrange a society marriage for her, she tries to reconcile herself to the match. But shortly before her betrothal is announced, Margaret flees, leaving her parents to explain her sudden absence to an opulent ballroom stuffed with two hundred distinguished guests. 

Banished from polite society, Margaret throws herself into charitable work and finds strength in a circle of female friends like herself—women intent on breaking the mold, including Queen Victoria’s daughter Princess Louise. Margaret resolves to follow her heart—a journey of self-discovery that will take her to Ireland, America, and then back to Britain where she finds the life she was always meant to lead.

A bold and thoughtful story about a rebellious woman finding herself and her voice in an age of astounding technological change and great social unrest, Her Heart for a Compass is a delicious costume drama rich in atmosphere, history, and color.



Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780063213654
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 08/03/2021
Edition description: Signed Edition
Pages: 560
Sales rank: 5,131
Product dimensions: 5.90(w) x 8.70(h) x 1.70(d)

Customer Reviews