Hello

Hello

by Fiona Woodcock

Hardcover

$17.99
Usually ships within 1 week

Overview

A brother and sister enjoy a brilliant day full of spills, thrills, and silly adventures in this playful story comprised only of words that contain a double L (such as spills, thrills, and silly)!

The spare, engaging text works as an interactive read-aloud, and the stunning illustrations invite repeated readings. A great choice for family sharing, language arts teachers, emerging readers, and storytime fun!

Hello! Are you ready for a brilliant day? There are plenty of spills and thrills as a brother and a sister collide in bumper cars, ride roller coasters, toss beach balls, and act silly in the chilly ocean water, where they meet a jellyfish!

This playful concept and story book is ideal for new readers, who will love following along as a brother and sister enjoy a day full of adventure and unexpected surprises.

Author-illustrator Fiona Woodcock’s spare text uses only words with double L’s, an important concept for early literacy. Parents and educators will appreciate the way each word is cleverly woven into eye-catching illustrations, from rabbit ears to a child’s boots.

Fans of Kevin Henkes’s Egg and Fiona Woodcock’s acclaimed debut Look will love the playful tone and pace.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780062644565
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 05/14/2019
Pages: 40
Product dimensions: 9.60(w) x 9.70(h) x 0.60(d)
Age Range: 4 - 8 Years

About the Author

Fiona Woodcock knew from a very early age that she wanted to grow up and make art for a living. Since graduating from the Glasgow School of Art in Scotland, she has been living in London and working on animated films, commercials, and other illustration projects. Her pictures have a paper-based handmade origin, incorporating drawings made with children’s BLO pens, hand-cut stencils, and printing techniques. Her debut picture book, Hiding Heidi, was nominated for the Kate Greenaway Award in 2017. Fiona was the recipient of a World Illustration Award for her acclaimed picture book Look. She is also the author and illustrator of Hello, a companion to Look. You can visit her at www.fionawoodcock.com.


Fiona Woodcock knew from a very early age that she wanted to grow up and make art for a living. Since graduating from the Glasgow School of Art in Scotland, she has been living in London and working on animated films, commercials, and other illustration projects. Her pictures have a paper-based handmade origin, incorporating drawings made with children’s BLO pens, hand-cut stencils, and printing techniques. Her debut picture book, Hiding Heidi, was nominated for the Kate Greenaway Award in 2017. Fiona was the recipient of a World Illustration Award for her acclaimed picture book Look. She is also the author and illustrator of Hello, a companion to Look. You can visit her at www.fionawoodcock.com.

Customer Reviews