B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
Heart of Ash

Heart of Ash

by Kim Liggett

Narrated by Chloe Cannon

Unabridged — 7 hours, 5 minutes

Kim Liggett

Audiobook (Digital)

$19.99
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription| Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

View All Available Formats & Editions
START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $19.99

Overview

"A sweeping, scary, and entertaining paranormal read." -School Library Journal

Ash may have escaped the immortal-worshipping cult that killed her mother, but the love of her life is still under its thrall. Dane has been possessed by his diabolical ancestor Coronado, a man who's fabulously wealthy, dripping with fame, and the leader of Europe's most dangerous immortal network. Dane begs Ash to join him at Coronado's castle in Spain, and swears that his blood bond with Ash is stronger than Coronado's hold over him. Ash is desperate to help Dane vanquish Coronado without having to sacrifice herself to the darkness. But when you're all in, blood and salt, the only way to hold on to the light might just be by setting everything on fire.


Related collections and offers

Editorial Reviews

From the Publisher

"The love story is dripping with Gothic fervor and angst, and the glamorous world Ash and Dane are swept into . . . appeal[s] for readers who enjoy romance."—School Library Journal

"Liggett’s second series entry remains eerie around the edges. At its heart, it’s still something of a romance . . . hooked readers will be all-in."—Booklist

"

School Library Journal

01/01/2018
Gr 9 Up—This follow-up to Blood and Salt takes the murderous scheming of immortals out of the cornfield and into the wealthy upper echelon of society. Dane is now hosting Coronado in his body and has been thrown in the limelight as a handsome, wealthy playboy. Ash tries her hardest to stay away despite their blood bond; but when she finds out her absent brother Rhys has been murdering immortals with his deadly blood, possibly against his will, she knows Dane might have some information. The two hatch a complicated plot to fool the surviving immortals and save Rhys. They still share an intense, almost maudlin attraction, but Ash (and readers) is never sure if it is Dane she's swooning over or if Coronado is pulling the strings. Like the first installment, the plot is difficult to follow, and without the intrigue of the bizarre cornfield cult as a backdrop, there is not as much payoff for parsing out the story line. The love story is dripping with Gothic fervor and angst, and the glamorous world Ash and Dane are swept into might hold appeal for readers who enjoy romance and are already familiar with the characters. VERDICT For hard-core fans of the first book; purchase where the previous volume is popular.—Beth McIntyre, Madison Public Library, WI

Kirkus Reviews

2017-11-13
Ash's transformation into an immortal in Blood and Salt (2015) continues to lead her into both danger and romance.In the first installment Ash learned that her family is descended from cult members questing for (and occasionally obtaining) immortality. Ash was also briefly possessed by the spirit of an ancient immortal who was seeking revenge on the spirit of her former lover, Coronado. Unfortunately, Coronado's spirit took up permanent residence in Ash's love interest, Dane. During this chaotic time, Ash's twin brother, Rhys, disappeared. Now, a year later, Rhys' unique blood is being used to assassinate immortals. Ash's quest to locate Rhys lacks urgency due to her preoccupation with her relationship with Dane—even as murders unfold around her. Meanwhile, Dane claims he can resist Coronado's attempts to completely control his body, which will undoubtedly sound dubious to readers long before Ash grows suspicious. Overall, Ash's pattern of ignoring multiple warning signs about the perilousness of her own situation merely slows the pace of the inevitable reveals without adding much suspense. And the narrative also lags as characters rarely display the volatile combination of love and jealousy that supposedly has motivated them to commit atrocities against one another for centuries. Ash is depicted as white on the cover, and the book appears to adhere to the white default.The occasionally choppy narrative and underdeveloped relationships mark this for fans of Blood and Salt only. (Paranormal romance. 14-18)

Product Details

BN ID: 2940177272832
Publisher: Tantor Audio
Publication date: 12/16/2021
Series: Blood and Salt Novel , #2
Edition description: Unabridged

Read an Excerpt

1
(Continues…)



Excerpted from "Heart of Ash"
by .
Copyright © 2018 Kim Liggett.
Excerpted by permission of Penguin Young Readers Group.
All rights reserved. No part of this excerpt may be reproduced or reprinted without permission in writing from the publisher.
Excerpts are provided by Dial-A-Book Inc. solely for the personal use of visitors to this web site.

Customer Reviews