Girls Like Girls

Girls Like Girls

Unabridged — 8 hours, 31 minutes

Girls Like Girls

Girls Like Girls

Unabridged — 8 hours, 31 minutes

Audiobook (Digital)

$19.99
FREE With a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime
$0.00

Free with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription | Cancel Anytime

START FREE TRIAL

Already Subscribed? 

Sign in to Your BN.com Account


Listen on the free Barnes & Noble NOOK app


Get an extra 10% off all audiobooks in June to celebrate Audiobook Month! Some exclusions apply. See details here.

Related collections and offers

FREE

with a B&N Audiobooks Subscription

Or Pay $19.99

Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

Hayley Kiyoko’s debut novel, Girls Like Girls is inspired by her hit song (and viral music video) of the same name. This sapphic coming-of-age romance is perfect for fans of You Should See Me in a Crown and Some Girls Do, and it is the quintessential summer read.

This program is read by an all-queer cast: the author, Hayley Kiyoko; Natalie Naudus; Malia Pyles; Katie Gavin; and Brandon Flynn.

"This quaint performance by a five-narrator ensemble will tug at the heartstrings."- AudioFile

Trailblazing pop star, actor and director, Hayley Kiyoko debuts her first novel, a coming-of-age romance based on her breakthrough hit song and viral video, GIRLS LIKE GIRLS.

It's summertime and 17-year-old Coley has found herself alone, again. Forced to move to rural Oregon after just losing her mother, she is in no position to risk her already fragile heart. But when she meets Sonya, the attraction is immediate.

Coley worries she isn't worthy of love. Up until now, everyone she's loved has left her. And Sonya's never been with a girl before. What if she's too afraid to show up for Coley? What if by opening her heart, Coley's risking it all?

They both realize that when things are pushed down, and feelings are forced to shrivel away, Coley and Sonya will be the ones to shrink. It's not until they accept the love they fear and deserve most, that suddenly the song makes sense.

Based on the billboard-charting smash hit song and viral music video GIRLS LIKE GIRLS, Hayley Kiyoko's debut novel is about embracing your truth and realizing we are all worthy of being loved back.

A Macmillan Audio production from Wednesday Books.


Editorial Reviews

July 2023 - AudioFile

This quaint performance by a five-narrator ensemble will tug at the heartstrings. It explores the budding relationship between Coley and Sonya, who are both learning to accept the beauty to be found in being vulnerable. Coley moves to Oregon after her mother dies and meets Sonya, who is uncertain about how a same-sex relationship will change her. Both girls stumble through expressing their feelings and learn how to cope in various ways. The narration is calm yet raw, a style well suited to the story. Certain dialogue exchanges between narrators add depth. While Coley and Sonya are portrayed as uncertain of their paths, they both grow into confident young women who are deserving of love and respect. G.M. © AudioFile 2023, Portland, Maine

Publishers Weekly

03/20/2023

Musician Kiyoko crafts a pitch-perfect tale about a grieving teen in 2006 grappling with first love in this touching debut, inspired by the viral music video of the same name. Following her mother’s death by suicide, 17-year-old Asian American Coley moves to rural Oregon to live with the father she barely knows. After nearly being run over by their car, Coley falls into a friend group comprising chill stoner Alex, competitive dancer Sonya, and Sonya’s bro-ish on-again, off-again boyfriend Trenton. As Coley struggles to untangle mixed romantic signals from Sonya, Coley also tries persuading her that Trenton’s gaslighting and physically aggressive behavior are red flags. When the girls kiss, Sonya withdraws from Coley, and their connection ruptures. After a series of missteps, Coley finds stability working as a server at a hibachi restaurant and begins connecting with her father. But Sonya’s sudden reappearance upsets Coley’s newfound balance and reignites her buried feelings. Rapid-fire dialogue and Coley’s biting narration drip with early aughts references that signal the time period. Coley and Sonya’s messy emotions and insta-love attraction, plagued by personal fears and external conflicts, buoy this powerfully romantic read. Ages 13–up. Agent: Katelyn Dougherty, Paradigm Entertainment. (May)

From the Publisher

*INSTANT #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER*
*INSTANT INDIE BESTSELLER*

*PUBLISHERS WEEKLY BESTSELLER*

Autostraddle, "Queer and Feminist Books Coming Your Way Spring 2023"

Book Riot, "Spring 2023 YA Books You’ll Want to TBR ASAP" and "May 2023 Horoscopes and Book Recommendations"

BuzzFeed, "15 Amazing Upcoming YA Books with Queer Characters"

Cosmopolitan, "30 Best Young Adult Books of 2023 That You Don't Want to Miss"

Goodreads
, "Readers' Most Anticipated Books of Spring", "11 Reader-Recommended New Young Adult Books for May", "48 Deeply Romantic New Young Adult Books"

Nylon, "13 May 2023 Books to Add to Your Reading List"

PopSugar, "Young-Adult Books to Add to Your Reading List in May"

“If Hayley Kiyoko is lesbian Jesus, Girls Like Girls is the Bible.” – INTERVIEW MAGAZINE

“[T]his is a book that feels like a glass of water when you are parched...thank you for writing it.” – TAYLOR JENKINS REID

"Musician Kiyoko crafts a pitch-perfect tale about a grieving teen in 2006 grappling with first love in this touching debut, inspired by the viral music video of the same name...[A] powerfully romantic read." - PUBLISHERS WEEKLY

"
Kiyoko is able to tap deep into the heart of what makes queer women tick, what drives us, and what it is we love about other women. Her dialogue is fresh and alive, especially when it’s between queer girls." - THE ADVOCATE

"Inspired by Kiyoko’s breakthrough song and viral music video, Girls Like Girls will embolden you to embrace yourself and accept love." - B&N READS, "Our Most Anticipated YA Books of May 2023"

AudioFile - JULY 2023

This quaint performance by a five-narrator ensemble will tug at the heartstrings. It explores the budding relationship between Coley and Sonya, who are both learning to accept the beauty to be found in being vulnerable. Coley moves to Oregon after her mother dies and meets Sonya, who is uncertain about how a same-sex relationship will change her. Both girls stumble through expressing their feelings and learn how to cope in various ways. The narration is calm yet raw, a style well suited to the story. Certain dialogue exchanges between narrators add depth. While Coley and Sonya are portrayed as uncertain of their paths, they both grow into confident young women who are deserving of love and respect. G.M. © AudioFile 2023, Portland, Maine

Kirkus Reviews

2023-03-29
Two girls wounded by their past relationships grapple with the undeniable intensity of their feelings for one another in this novel based on the pop-star author’s popular song and music video.

Seventeen-year-old Coley, who is White and Japanese, braces for impact as a minivan hurtles toward her in a parking lot. The crash never comes, but in that moment, she and fierce Sonya, beautiful with her tan skin and dark hair and eyes, collide. Horrible circumstances brought Coley to small-town Oregon; after her mom’s suicide, she’s raw with grief and stuck living with the dad who abandoned her when she was 3. Wealthy, competitive dancer Sonya feels no less trapped. Afraid of rejection and loneliness, she buries her true self to appease her perfectionist mother and the demanding ex-boyfriend who refuses to let her go. Unspoken attraction pulls Coley and Sonya together, but the masks they wear to protect themselves from their pain create a barrier that may keep them apart. Set in the summer of 2006, the novel alternates Sonya’s public and private LiveJournal posts that reveal her side of the story with Coley’s first-person narration. Sharp, poetic prose heightens the emotional and romantic drama. References to early 2000s pop and alternative music in Sonya’s posts create a playlist that sheds more light on her feelings. Coley demonstrates satisfying character growth as she opens up to herself and others. Apart from Coley, most characters are presumed White.

A searing romance. (content note) (Romance. 14-18)

Product Details

BN ID: 2940176536652
Publisher: Macmillan Audio
Publication date: 05/30/2023
Edition description: Unabridged
Sales rank: 332,336
From the B&N Reads Blog

Customer Reviews