For the Wolf

For the Wolf

by Hannah Whitten

Paperback

$14.99 $17.99 Save 17% Current price is $14.99, Original price is $17.99. You Save 17%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, August 6

Overview

Notes From Your Bookseller

What if the fairy tale is nothing but a lie? Red knows her destiny: to be sacrificed to The Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But then she learns the truth … This fractured fairy tale retelling of “Little Red Riding Hood” is spectacular — a perfect recommendation for fans of Naomi Novik’s Uprooted or Spinning Silver or the The Winternight trilogy (The Bear and the Nightingale, The Winter of the Witch and The Girl in the Tower) by Katherine Arden.

AN INSTANT NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER!

The first daughter is for the Throne.

The second daughter is for the Wolf.

For fans of Uprooted and The Bear and the Nightingale comes a dark, sweeping debut fantasy novel about a young woman who must be sacrificed to the legendary Wolf of the Wood to save her kingdom. But not all legends are true, and the Wolf isn't the only danger lurking in the Wilderwood.

As the only Second Daughter born in centuries, Red has one purpose—to be sacrificed to the Wolf in the Wood in the hope he'll return the world's captured gods.

Red is almost relieved to go. Plagued by a dangerous power she can't control, at least she knows that in the Wilderwood, she can't hurt those she loves. Again.

But the legends lie. The Wolf is a man, not a monster. Her magic is a calling, not a curse. And if she doesn't learn how to use it, the monsters the gods have become will swallow the Wilderwood—and her world—whole.

"A brilliant dark fantasy debut!" —Jodi Picoult, NYT bestselling author


Related collections and offers

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780316592789
Publisher: Orbit
Publication date: 06/01/2021
Series: Wilderwood Series , #1
Pages: 480
Sales rank: 1,888
Product dimensions: 5.40(w) x 8.10(h) x 1.70(d)

About the Author

Hannah Whitten has been writing to amuse herself since she could hold a pen, and sometime in high school, she figured out that what amused her might also amuse others. When she's not writing, she's reading, making music, or attempting to bake. She lives in Tennessee with her husband and children in a house ruled by a temperamental cat.

Customer Reviews