by David ByrneDavid Byrne


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, May 13


Attempting to inject some adventure into his multicultural, worldbeat-inflected avant-pop, David Byrne dabbled with trip-hop and drum'n'bass on Feelings. These tracks, including a collaboration with Morcheeba, are essentially window dressing, a way to distract attention from Byrne's lack of new ideas. The songs that work best on Feelings, like "Miss America," are reminiscent of the percolating, Latin-tinged Rei Momo; when Byrne tries to sound contemporary, he simply seems out of touch. Still, Feelings is stronger and more adventurous than David Byrne, even if it never quite fulfills its ambitions.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/17/1997
Label: Warner Records
UPC: 0093624660521
catalogNumber: 46605
Rank: 44301


  1. Fuzzy Freaky
  2. Miss America
  3. A Soft Seduction
  4. Dance on Vaseline
  5. The Gates of Paradise
  6. Amnesia
  7. You Don't Know Me
  8. Daddy Go Down
  9. Finite=Alright
  10. Wicked Little Doll
  11. Burnt by the Sun
  12. The Civil Wars
  13. [Untitled Track]
  14. They Are in Love

Album Credits

Performance Credits

David Byrne   Primary Artist,Synthesizer,Dobro,Guitar,Autoharp,Harmonium,Keyboards,Vocals,Synthesizer Guitar,Loops
Mark Mothersbaugh   Synthesizer,Sampling
Betty Wright   Background Vocals
Nicky Holland   Cello
Paul Martin   Viola
Paula Cole   Background Vocals
Alexander Balanescu   Violin
Ed Calle   Saxophone
Sterling Campbell   Drums
Gerald V. Casale   Bass,Background Vocals
Greg Cohen   Bass,Acoustic Bass
Tony Concepcion   Trumpet
Clare Connors   Violin
Akua Dixon   Cello
Joe Galdo   Percussion,Drums
Scott Granlund   C-Melody Saxophone
Juliet Haffner   Viola
Andy Hess   Bass
Ite Jerez   Trumpet
Andres Levin   Guitar (Tremolo)
Lester Mendez   Keyboards
Hahn Rowe   Keyboards,Arp Omni
Peter Scherer   Organ,Keyboards,farfisa organ,Wurlitzer
Dana Teboe   Trombone
Camilo Valencia   Horn
Mark Saunders   Keyboards
Ashley MacIsaac   Fiddle
Jerry Casale   Background Vocals
Paquito Hechavarria   Piano
Vinicius Cantuaria   Percussion
Steve Bentley-Klein   Strings,Trumpet
Paul Godfrey   scratching,Sampling
Ross Godfrey   Synthesizer,Guitar,Keyboards,Sitar,Lap Steel Guitar
Skye Edwards   Background Vocals
Ed Pias   Bongos,Shaker
Andy Waterworth   Bass
Ashley Horne   Violin
Joe Cooper   Percussion,Drums
Carlos Baptiste   Violin
Clare Conners   Violin
Fantasmo   Choir, Chorus,Coros
It Jerez   Trumpet
Pierre La Roux   Fiddle
William South   Clavinet,Hammond Synth
Kyle Hanson   Accordion
Joseph Zajonc   Drums
Matthew Sperry   Double Bass
Don Crevie   French Horn
Russ Meltzer   Guitar
Nicholas Holland   Cello

Technical Credits

David Byrne   Producer,Audio Production,Loop
Balanescu Quartet   Engineer
C-N-A   Programming,Engineer
Bob Casale   Engineer
Camus Mare Celli   Producer
Joe Galdo   Producer,Audio Production
Andres Levin   Producer
Hahn Rowe   Producer,Engineer
Peter Scherer   Contributor
Cesar Sogbe   Engineer
Camilo Valencia   Horn Arrangements
Peter Norris   Engineer
Mark Saunders   Producer
Morcheeba   Audio Production
Jon Dryden   Arranger,String Arrangements
Black Cat Orchestra   Producer

Customer Reviews