A Collection of Stories

A Collection of Stories

by Edgar Allan Poe

NOOK BookUnabridged (eBook - Unabridged)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now


This edition of Edgar Allan Poe's A Collection of Stories includes a Foreword, Biographical Note, and Afterword by S. T. Joshi.

Tor Classics are affordably-priced editions designed to attract the young reader. Original dynamic cover art enthusiastically represents the excitement of each story. All editions are complete and unabridged, and feature Introductions and Afterwords.

At the Publisher's request, this title is being sold without Digital Rights Management Software (DRM) applied.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781466805712
Publisher: Tom Doherty Associates
Publication date: 04/15/1994
Series: Tor Classics
Sold by: Macmillan
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 256
Sales rank: 927,419
File size: 300 KB

About the Author

Edgar Allan Poe (January 19, 1809 – October 7, 1849) was an American author and poet; his short stories include "The Fall of the House of Usher," "The Murders in the Rue Morgue," "The Pit and the Pendulum," and "The Tell-Tale Heart."

Edgar Allan Poe was an American poet, short-story writer, editor and literary critic. Best known for his tales of mystery and the macabre, Poe was one of the earliest American practitioners of the short story and is considered the inventor of the detective-fiction genre. Born Edgar Poe in Boston, Massachusetts in 1809; he was informally adopted by the Allans of Richmond after his parents' death. He attended the University of Virginia and briefly attempted a military career, before embarking on a literary career. After publishing an anonymous collection of poems in 1827, Poe switched his focus to prose and spent the next several years working for literary journals and periodicals. He married his cousin, Virginia Clemm, in 1835, who died in 1842 not long after publishing his famous poem 'The Raven'. He began planning to produce his own journal, The Penn (later renamed The Stylus), but died in 1849 before being able to see it produced.

Table of Contents

The Life Edgar Allan Poe
"MS. Found in a Bottle"
"The Fall of the House of Usher"
"The Murders in the Rue Morgue"
"A Descent into the Maelstrom"
"Never Bet the Devil Your Head"
"The Oval Portrait"
"The Masque of the Red Death"
"The Pit and the Pendulum"
"The Tell-Tale Heart"
"The Black Cat"
"The Premature Burial"
"The Purloined Letter"
"The Sphinx"
"The Cask of Amontillado"
"Hop Frog: or, The Eight Chained Ourang-Outangs"

Customer Reviews