Treasure Island

Treasure Island

Bobby Driscoll
Director: Byron Haskin Cast: Bobby Driscoll
Bobby Driscoll
, Robert Newton
Robert Newton
, Basil Sydney
Basil Sydney
Byron Haskin


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Wednesday, April 28


The Walt Disney production of the Robert Louis Stevenson classic novel Treasure Island is one of the company's best live-action films of the '50s, and one of the best family-oriented adventures ever filmed. Bobby Driscoll plays Jim Hawkins, a young cabin boy who battles the pirate Long John Silver (Robert Newton) for a treasure. Disney changes the ending of the book, yet the film is so entertaining--particularly Newton's scene-stealing performance--that the difference is forgivable. In the '70s, Treasure Island was re-issued with "objectionable" violence cut out of the print; the original version was restored in the 1992 home video re-release.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/29/2003
UPC: 0786936216103
Original Release: 1950
Rating: G
Source: Walt Disney Video
Region Code: 1
Sound: [Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 1:36:00
Sales rank: 1,982

Special Features

Closed Caption; Full restored ; Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround Sound ; Original theatrical aspect ratio (1.33:1)

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Bobby Driscoll Jim Hawkins
Robert Newton Long John Silver
Basil Sydney Capt. Smollett
Walter Fitzgerald Squire Trelawney
Denis O'Dea Dr. Livesey
Finlay Currie Capt. Billy Bones
Ralph Truman George Merry
John Laurie Blind Pew
Francis de Wolff Black Dog
Geoffrey Wilkinson Ben Gunn
Geoffrey Keen Israel Hands
William Devlin Tom Morgan
Sam Kydd Cady
Harry Locke Haggott
Stephen Jack Job Anderson
Gordon Mulholland Durgin
Patrick Troughton Roach
Leo Phillips Spotts
Fred Clark Bray
Tom Lucas Upson
David Davies Mr. Arrow
John Gregson Redruth
Howard Douglas Williams
Eddie Moran Jack Bart

Technical Credits
Byron Haskin Director
Peter Ellenshaw Art Director
Alan Jaggs Editor
Muir Mathieson Musical Direction/Supervision
Tom Morahan Production Designer
Clifton Parker Score Composer
Perce Pearce Producer
Tony Sforzini Makeup
Lawrence Edward Watkin Screenwriter
Freddie Young Cinematographer

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Opening Credits/Until Dark [9:30]
2. Captain Flint's Map [5:03]
3. Long John Silver [9:03]
4. Shipmates [10:37]
5. A Surprise for Mr. Arrow [4:37]
6. Mutiny [4:09]
7. Ben Gunn [4:27]
8. The Word of a Gentleman [7:11]
9. Jim Sneaks Aboard [9:00]
10. Taken Hostage [9:28]
11. Captain Flint's Treasure [12:29]
12. Long John Silver's Escape/End Credits [5:09]

Customer Reviews