Tokyo Drifter

Tokyo Drifter

Tetsuya Watari
Director: Seijun Suzuki Cast: Tetsuya Watari
Tetsuya Watari
, Tamio Kawachi
Tamio Kawachi
, Hideaki Nitani
Hideaki Nitani
Seijun Suzuki

DVD (Wide Screen)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, April 15


Tokyo Drifter stands with Branded to Kill as one of the best-known and most acclaimed films of Seijun Suzuki, one of Japan's most talented maverick directors. A colorful riot of an action drama, Tokyo Drifter, like many of Suzuki's films, transforms a standard gangster film plot into a vehicle for his own loopy brand of filmmaking, featuring gorgeous cinematography, unconventional storytelling techniques, and a dark sense of humor. This particular example centers on Tetsu, a yakuza member who, when his gang is disbanded, remains loyal to his boss and attempts to go straight. This is no easy task, however, as the yakuza are determined to get him back into the life -- or kill him if he refuses. The pressure soon forces Tetsu to go on the road, becoming the "Tokyo drifter" of the title, but even this is not enough to prevent his past from violently catching up with him. The film's choreographed action and vibrant color palette make the frequent action sequences, including one of the most raucous barroom brawls ever put on film, seem almost like musical numbers, resulting in a spectacularly entertaining and truly original take on the gangster drama.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/13/2011
UPC: 0715515090711
Original Release: 1966
Source: Criterion Collection
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Mono]
Time: 1:22:00
Sales rank: 33,340

Special Features

Video piece featuring new interviews with Director Seijun Suzuki and Assistant Director Masami Kuzuu; Interview with Suzuki from 1997; Trailer

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Tokyo Drifter
1. The Red Gun [5:45]
2. Kurata's Debt [5:47]
3. Defensive-Driving Strategies [4:33]
4. Otsuka Makes His Move [6:12]
5. Gangsters at Heart [6:23]
6. Viper Tatsu [4:57]
7. The Tramp from Tokyo [5:54]
8. Charm Lady [2:04]
9. Singing and Killing [5:30]
10. Ten Yards [2:16]
11. Charmed Life [5:24]
12. Drifting [2:41]
13. Umetani's Joint [5:57]
14. Dead? [3:06]
15. Otsuka's Conditions [3:44]
16. Someday [4:26]
17. Piano Man [7:58]
18. Color Bars [:00]

Customer Reviews