The True Story of Jesse James

The True Story of Jesse James

Robert Wagner
Director: Nicholas Ray Cast: Robert Wagner
Robert Wagner
, Jeffrey Hunter
Jeffrey Hunter
, Hope Lange
Hope Lange
Nicholas Ray

DVD (Full Frame)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, May 11


Actually, this retelling of the life of outlaw Jesse James is only as true as its predecessor, the highly fanciful 1939 Tyrone Power-Henry Fonda starrer Jesse James. Generous chunks of stock footage from the earlier film are reused here, albeit reframed to accommodate the CinemaScope process. Robert Wagner makes an interesting James, though he is upstaged throughout by Jeffrey Hunter as his brother Frank. Adhering to the Canon, the film insists that the James boys were forced into a life of crime by greedy railroad men -- hence, their ongoing vendetta against trains. Director Nicholas Ray adds a few psychological nuances not found in the more prosaic 1939 film. John Carradine, who played "dirty little coward" Bob Ford in the original Jesse James, appears in the remake as Rev. Jethro Bailey. The DVD contains vintage Movietone Newsreels along with the original theatrical trailer.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/06/2007
UPC: 0024543244455
Original Release: 1957
Rating: NR
Source: Fox Mod
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Time: 1:32:00
Sales rank: 44,260

Special Features

Fox Movietone News:; Weterner Claims He Is Jesse James!; Original theatrical trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Robert Wagner Jesse James
Jeffrey Hunter Frank James
Hope Lange Zee
Agnes Moorehead Mrs. Samuel
Alan Hale Cole Younger
John Carradine Rev. Jethro Bailey
Rachel Stephens Anne
Biff Elliot Jim Younger
Frank Overton Maj. Cobb
Barry Atwater Attorney Walker
Marian Seldes Rowina Cobb
Chubby Johnson Askew
Frank Gorshin Charley
Carl Thayler Robby
John Doucette Hillstrom
Robert Adler Sheriff Trump
Clancy Cooper Sheriff Yoe
Sumner Williams Bill Stiles
Tom Greenway Deputy Leo
Jason Wingreen Peter
Aaron Saxon Wiley
Anthony Ray Bob Younger
Clegg Hoyt Tucker
Tom Pittman Hughie
Joe di Reda Bill Eyan
Alan Baxter Remington
Barney Phillips Dr. Samuel
Mike Steen Deputy Ed

Technical Credits
Nicholas Ray Director
Leigh Harline Score Composer
Addison Hehr Art Director
Joe MacDonald Cinematographer
Lionel Newman Musical Direction/Supervision
Walter Newman Screenwriter
Stuart A. Reiss Set Decoration/Design
Joseph E. Richards Asst. Director
Walter Scott Set Decoration/Design
Robert L. Simpson Editor
Herbert Bayard Swope Producer
Lyle Wheeler Art Director
Mary Wills Costumes/Costume Designer

Customer Reviews