B&N Audiobooks Subscription = SAVINGS. Sign Up Today for a Free Book!
The Riddle of the Sands

The Riddle of the Sands

Michael York
Director: Tony Maylam Cast: Michael York
Michael York
, Jenny Agutter
Jenny Agutter
, Simon MacCorkindale
Simon MacCorkindale
Tony Maylam


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, June 30


One of the earliest English spy novels, The Riddle of the Sands by Erskine Childers, is the basis for this movie. In the story, it is 1901, and England is at the height of its power and influence in the world. Arthur Davies (Simon MacCorkindale) is out sailing in his yacht in the North Sea. Off the coast of Germany, he has a set-to with a local sea-captain, Dollmann (Alan Badel). The encounter itself was odd enough, but adding to it's strangeness is Arthur's nagging sense that the German captain was known to him, somehow. He discovers that Dollman is actually a British naval officer who has gone bad and calls on his old college friend, Charles Carruthers (Michael York) to help him investigate this phenomenon. Eventually, the two men discover that the Kaiser Wilhelm has planned to secretly invade and conquer Britain, and they are the only ones who can prevent it.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/27/2011
UPC: 0089859874024
Original Release: 1979
Source: Vci Video
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:42:00
Sales rank: 40,038

Special Features

Photo Gallery

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Michael York Charles Carruthers
Jenny Agutter Clara Dollman
Simon MacCorkindale Arthur Davies
Alan Badel Dollman
Jurgen Andersen Von Bruning
Olga Lowe Frau Dollman
Hans Meyer Grimm
Michael Sheard Bohme
Wolf Kahler Kaiser Wilhelm II
Ronald Markham Withers
Susannah York Actor
Howard Blake Conductor

Technical Credits
Tony Maylam Director,Screenwriter
John Bailey Screenwriter
Howard Blake Score Composer
Christopher G. Challis Cinematographer
Drummond Challis Producer
Peter Hollywood Editor
Terry Pritchard Art Director

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Riddle of the Sands
1. Intro [5:17]
2. Come Aboard [7:40]
3. Lovely Day [6:09]
4. Carruthers [8:16]
5. Recovering [9:21]
6. Damnit Davies [7:51]
7. Duck Hunting [12:32]
8. More Fog [5:13]
9. Secret Plans [7:19]
10. Simple Salvage [9:13]
11. Stowaway [9:21]
12. Your Health [9:50]

Customer Reviews