The Racket

The Racket

Robert Mitchum
Director: John Cromwell, Nicholas Ray Cast: Robert Mitchum
Robert Mitchum
, Lizabeth Scott
Lizabeth Scott
John Cromwell, Nicholas Ray,


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Tuesday, April 27


The Racket was based on a play by Bartlett Cormack, first filmed as a silent in 1928. The storyline was updated to include references to Estes Kefauver's Senate Crime Investigating Committee: otherwise, the plot (and much of the dialogue) was lifted bodily from the Cormack play. Racketeer Robert Ryan has managed to get several government and law-enforcement higher-ups in his pocket. But Ryan can't touch the incorruptible police officer Robert Mitchum, who refuses all attempts at bribery. Ryan pulls strings to get Mitchum transferred to a series of undesirable precincts, but Mitchum will not be dissuaded. The battle of wills between cop and criminal comes to a head when mob-connected nightclub singer Lizabeth Scott turns on her former protector Ryan. The Broadway version of The Racket starred Edward G. Robinson as the racketeer; the 1928 film version featured Louis Wolheim in the Robinson role and Thomas Meighan as the upright cop. Both the silent and sound versions of the property were personally produced by Howard R. Hughes.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/08/2016
UPC: 0888574446000
Original Release: 1951
Source: Warner Archives
Time: 1:29:00
Sales rank: 23,806

Special Features

Commentary by Film Historian Eddie Mueller

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Robert Mitchum Capt. Thomas McQuigg
Lizabeth Scott Irene Hayes
Robert Ryan Nick Scanlon
William Talman Johnson
Ray Collins Welch
Joyce MacKenzie Mary McQuigg
Robert Hutton Ames
Virginia Huston Lucy Johnson
William Conrad Turck
Walter Sande Delaney
Les Tremayne Harry Craig
Walter S. Baldwin Sullivan
Brett King Joe Scanlon
Tito Vuolo Tony
Don Beddoe Mitchell
Robert Bice Actor
John Day Menig
Dulce Daye Actor
Richard H. Gordon Actor
Donald Porter Connolly
Bret Hamilton Actor
Miles Shepard Actor
Richard Karlan Enright
Howland Chamberlain Higgins
Ralph Peters Davis
Iris Adrian Sadie
Jack Shea Sergeant
Eric Alden Sergeant
Mike Lally Sergeant
Howard Joslin Sgt. Werker
Joey Ray Reporter
Duke Taylor Policeman
Hazel Keener Secretary
Steve Roberts Schmidt
Pat Flaherty Clerk
Milburn Stone Foster
Max Wagner Durko
Matthew Boulton Simpson
Barry Brooks Cameron
George Sherwood Douglas
Jack Gargan Lewis
Herb Vigran Headwaiter
Bud Wolfe Detective
Ronald Lee Elevator Boy
Dick Gordon Man
Allen Mathews Man
Ralph Montgomery Man
Al Murphy Newsboy
Sally Yarnell Operator
Jane Easton Operator
Harriet Matthews Librarian
Eddie Parker Thug
Art Dupuis Policeman
Harry Lauter Police Officer Mosley
Richard Reeves Leo
Donald Dillaway Harris

Technical Credits
John Cromwell Director
Nicholas Ray Director
Harold Adamson Songwriter
Constantin Bakaleinikoff Score Composer,Musical Direction/Supervision
Mel Berns Makeup
W.R. Burnett Screenwriter
Mel Burns Costumes/Costume Designer,Makeup
Albert S. D'Agostino Art Director
George E. Diskant Cinematographer
Edmund Grainger Producer
William Wister Haines Screenwriter
Jimmy McHugh Songwriter
Frank McWhorter Sound/Sound Designer
Jack Okey Art Director
Clem Portman Sound/Sound Designer
Paul Sawtell Score Composer
Darrell Silvera Set Decoration/Design
William L. Stevens Set Decoration/Design
Sherman Todd Editor
Roy Webb Score Composer
Michael Woulfe Costumes/Costume Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Racket
1. Credits [1:05]
2. Crime Commission [2:52]
3. Nick Knows [5:10]
4. Higgins' Accident [5:05]
5. McQuigg's Reputation [3:11]
6. Nice Work, Johnson [5:49]
7. Getting Personal [6:09]
8. Danger on Their Doorstep [1:55]
9. Rooftop Ruckus [4:27]
10. Pressure Above and Below [3:40]
11. Collar at the Club [4:45]
12. When I Say It, Do It [3:08]
13. Prominent Names [3:58]
14. Nick's Business [3:55]
15. Holding Onto Irene [2:36]
16. Johnson's Visitors [4:06]
17. Plan of Attack [2:43]
18. Station Shooting [5:47]
19. Killed On Duty [3:16]
20. The One I Want [2:51]
21. Unafraid Witnesses [4:06]
22. The Old Man's Orders [3:38]
23. Silencing Nick [1:51]
24. Justice Machine [2:27]

Customer Reviews