Pub. Date:
The Poughkeepsie Tapes

The Poughkeepsie Tapes

John E. Dowdle

Blu-ray (Wide Screen / Bonus DVD / 2 PACK)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Monday, October 4


A serial killer obsessively documents his career in carnage in this pseudo-documentary thriller. When police raid a house in upstate New York, they discover a profoundly disturbing record of one man's ugly crimes. A psychotic serial killer once called the house his home, and along with the implements of his grisly pastime, investigators find over 240 hours of videotape shot by the killer which present a visual record of his murders in all their horrifying details. Both state and federal law enforcement teams sift through the gruesome images, looking for clues of the slayer's identity, the identity of his victims, and where he could possibly have gone. But repeated viewings of the material reveal little beyond the terrible facts of the crimes, and as the authorities comb through the madman's images, they find the tapes have had a disquieting effect on them. Written and directed by John Erick Dowdle, The Poughkeepsie Tapes was screened in competition at the 2007 Tribeca Film Festival.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 10/10/2017
UPC: 0826663180169
Original Release: 2007
Rating: R
Source: Shout Factory
Region Code: A1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 1:26:00
Sales rank: 15,346

Special Features

New Interviews with Writer/Director John Erick Dowdle, Writer/Producer Drew Dowdle and Actress Stacy Chbosky; Theatrical Trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits

Technical Credits
John E. Dowdle Director,Screenwriter
Ward Barnett Executive Producer
Stephen Chbosky Executive Producer
Keefus Ciancia Score Composer
Drew Dowdle Executive Producer
John Erick Dowdle Editor,Original Story
Shawn Dufraine Cinematographer
Elliot Greenberg Editor
Patrick Lussier Executive Producer
Alethea Root Production Designer
Michael Zoumas Executive Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Poughkeepsie Tapes
1. Title Sequence [2:58]
2. Part 1: The Tapes [3:45]
3. Part 2: First Blood [5:21]
4. Part 3: Getting Better [9:37]
5. Part 4: Cheryl Dempsey [19:48]
6. Part 5: A New M.O. [14:04]
7. Part 6: Missed One [7:36]
8. Part 7: Found [3:54]
9. Chapter 9 [8:44]
10. Chapter 10 [5:03]

Customer Reviews