The People Speak

The People Speak

Chris Moore, Anthony Arnove, Howard Zinn,


Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Thursday, August 5


Using dramatic and musical performances of the letters, diaries and speeches of everyday Americans, The People Speak focuses on the concept of democracy based on the lives and experiences of ordinary Americans who, through their words and actions, changed the course of history. Narrated by Howard Zinn and based on his bestselling books, A People's History of the United States, and Voices of a People's History, this groundbreaking documentary film illustrates the relevance of these passionate historical moments to our society today, reminding us that democracy is not a spectator sport and to never take liberty for granted. A journey from the founding of this country to the civil rights movement and beyond, The People Speak uses star power to celebrate democracy: executive producer Matt Damon reads from The Declaration of Independence; Bruce Springsteen performs Woody Guthrie's "This Land is Your Land"; while other accomplished performers, including Morgan Freeman, Marisa Tomei, Josh Brolin, Viggo Mortensen, Kerry Washington, Bob Dylan and Eddie Vedder lend their voices to help re-create the emotional impact of these moments in history.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 09/11/2018
UPC: 0738329233259
Original Release: 2009
Rating: NR
Source: Lorber Films (Kino)
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:53:00
Sales rank: 2,318

Special Features

Closed Caption; Behind-the-Scenes at The Cutler Majestic Theatre; Celebrity Interviews; Tribute to Howard Zinn; Trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits

Technical Credits
Chris Moore Director
Anthony Arnove Director
Howard Zinn Director
David Baerwald Score Composer
Tony Sacco Cinematographer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- People Speak
255. Chapters
1. People's History [12:15]
2. Defiance [11:02]
3. Civil Rights [8:53]
4. Women's Rights [13:49]
5. Out of Work [14:03]
6. Organization [11:45]
7. Expansion [8:03]
8. Patriotism [10:03]
9. War [8:32]
10. Solidarity [14:25]

Customer Reviews