The Legacy

The Legacy

Katharine Ross
Director: Richard Marquand Cast: Katharine Ross
Katharine Ross
, Sam Elliott
Sam Elliott
, Hildegard Neil
Hildegard Neil
Richard Marquand


View All Available Formats & Editions


Richard Marquand directed this second-rate retread of Haunted House Horror, with The Devil added to spice up the proceedings. Katharine Ross and Sam Elliot play Margaret Walsh and Pete Danner, a couple of American architects who are inexplicably summoned to the English countryside for an architectural assignment. They meet a mysterious and reclusive millionaire, Jason Mountolive (John Standing), get one look at him, and head back to town. But when they are forced off the road by a chauffeur-driven limousine, they find themselves back at Mountolive's house of horrors. Trapped in the mansion for the weekend, they get to see Mountolive's guests dispatched in a variety of gruesome ways, before the inevitable demonic possession routine kicks in.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/07/2004
UPC: 0025192557927
Original Release: 1978
Rating: R
Source: Universal Studios
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:40:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Katharine Ross Maggie Walsh
Sam Elliott Pete Danner
Hildegard Neil Barbara
Roger Daltrey Clive
Ian Hogg Harry
John Standing Jason Mountolive
Margaret Tyzack Nurse Adams
Charles Gray Karl
Lee Montague Jacques
Marianne Broome Maria
Reg Harding Gardener
William Abney Butler
Patsy Smart Cook

Technical Credits
Richard Marquand Director
Dick Bush Cinematographer
Anne V. Coates Editor
David Foster Producer
Michael Dryhurst Asst. Director
Robin Grantham Makeup
Alan Hume Cinematographer
Disley Jones Production Designer
Arnold Kopelson Executive Producer
Michael J. Lewis Score Composer
Jimmy Sangster Screenwriter
Neville Smallwood Makeup
Patrick Tilley Screenwriter
Paul Wheeler Screenwriter
Ian Wingrove Special Effects

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Come with Me (Main Titles) [6:04]
2. Stop for Tea [4:59]
3. Make Yourselves at Home [5:08]
4. Hot Shower [4:11]
5. Primitive People [5:01]
6. Taking a Break [4:09]
7. There's Been an Accident [5:10]
8. Blessing of the Ring [9:46]
9. Target Practice [5:56]
10. Road to Nowhere [6:50]
11. Black Magic [4:54]
12. Another Way of Life [4:44]
13. Burned at the Make [6:10]
14. To the Dogs [3:51]
15. It's Me! [8:24]
16. Who Will Remain? [5:32]
17. Satan's Power [7:30]
18. End Titles [1:13]

Customer Reviews