The Last of Mrs. Cheyney

The Last of Mrs. Cheyney

Joan Crawford
Director: Dorothy Arzner, Richard Boleslawski, George Fitzmaurice
Cast: Joan Crawford
Dorothy Arzner, Richard Boleslawski, George Fitzmaurice,

DVD (Full Frame)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for delivery by Friday, July 30


Based on a popular drawing-room drama by Frederick Lonsdale, The Last of Mrs. Cheyney stars Joan Crawford as a jewel thief who poses as an aristocrat. It is Crawford's intention to pilfer a valuable pearl necklace while attending a society party in the company of partner-in-crime William Powell. Here she attracts the attention of Robert Montgomery, a young nobleman who is amused by Crawford's wittiness in the face of the haughty bitchery of Benita Hume. When Montgomery turns out to be a bounder and Powell and Crawford are revealed to be criminals, Crawford does some quick thinking that not only gets her off the hook but puts the two-faced Montgomery in his place as well. Previously filmed in 1929 with Norma Shearer in the lead, The Last of Mrs. Cheyney would itself be remade in 1951 as The Law and the Lady, with Greer Garson as the heroine.

Related collections and offers

Product Details

Release Date: 03/04/2014
UPC: 0883316925782
Original Release: 1937
Rating: NR
Source: Warner Archives
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Time: 1:38:00
Sales rank: 33,991

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Joan Crawford Fay Cheyney
William Powell Charles
Robert Montgomery Lord Arthur Dilling
Frank Morgan Lord Francis Kelton
Jessie Ralph Dutchess
Nigel Bruce Willis
Colleen Clare Joan
Benita Hume Kitty
Ralph Forbes Cousin John
Aileen Pringle Marie
Melville Cooper William
Leonard Carey Ames
Sara Haden Anna
Lumsden Hare Inspector Witherspoon
Wallis Clark George
Barnett Parker Purser
Wilson Benge Butler
Thomas Braidon Head Steward
Vesey O'Davoren Steward
Robert Cory Deck Steward

Technical Credits
Dorothy Arzner Director
Richard Boleslawski Director
George Fitzmaurice Director
Adrian Costumes/Costume Designer
William Axt Score Composer
George Folsey Cinematographer
Cedric Gibbons Art Director
Leon Gordon Screenwriter
Monckton Hoffe Screenwriter
Samson Raphaelson Screenwriter
Frank Sullivan Editor
Lawrence Weingarten Producer

Customer Reviews